EPSY 8990: School Psychology Doctoral Seminar (Harrison): Finding Articles

Need a hint about which databases to use? Here are some that are likely to be helpful. Many of these can be searched all at once. When you're in the search screen, look for "choose databases". Click on the link and you'll see a list of the databases we purchase from this company. Click the ones you're interested in and search them together.

Click on the "Find It @ UGA" button to see what access we have to the journal.

To get to the databases from the Libraries Homepage, click on the Databases A-Z  tab. You can select databases by subject or by title.

•  
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (aka Dissertation Abstracts) Search for dissertations on your topic from schools across the US as well as some foreign countries. Most dissertations found here are now offered in Full Text! (This is a big deal!)  If  you need a dissertation that is not full-text, CONTACT INTERLIBRARY LOAN TO SEE IF THEY CAN BORROW IT FOR FREE. Do not buy it from ProQuest unless you must.
• Theses and dissertations from UGA are available electronically since 1999. Available electronically or in print, find them in GIL. Use the advanced search. 
  •  When searching in GIL for earlier dissertations on your topic, use the keyword search and be rather vague. Earlier works do not an abstract full of search terms. Also be aware of department name changes through time if use the department name as a search term.
• Mental Measurements Yearbook Full-text information on commercially-available, standardized English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
• PsycINFO The major index for articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology. The American Psychological Association offers YouTube videos on how to use PsycINFO.

SpringerLink, Wiley Online Library & Science Direct.  These databases provide full-text coverage of books, book chapters and journal articles from these publishing firms and their subsidiaries. Coverage varies by database, but it's a handy way to get full-text information directly.

If a GALILEO database doesn't have the full text of your article, these are your options:

• The button will lead you to the fulltext in another database.
• If UGA only has the article in print, distance students can request a free pdf copy.
• If UGA doesn't own an article in print or online, request a free copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Another good place to look for materials is in Google Scholar. Use the Libraries' Homepage find the link to Google Scholar. Entering Google Scholar through our page will link you to our holdings.

Remember: If we don't own what you need, TALK TO INTERLIBRARY LOAN. They will track down what you need ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD and get you what you need for free. NEVER PAY FOR LIBRARY MATERIALS UNTIL YOU'VE TALKED TO INTERLIBRARY LOAN. EVER.

Here is a list of some helpful Google Scholar search tips:

• Use Quotations to search for a phrase: “no child left behind”
• Use Parentheses to group words to show the relationship between concepts:(chemical warfare) (Syria OR Iraq)
• Use a hyphen to exclude a word: apple –computer
• Use a tilde to search for synonyms of a word:  ~stop
• Use author: to limit your search to results by a specific author: qualitative study author: hawkins
• Use filetype: to find results with a specific file type: flu vaccine filetype: pdf
• Use intext: to require a word to appear anywhere in your results: doping “major league baseball”  intext: congress
• Use allintext: to require multiple words to appear anywhere in your results: allintext: autism vaccine controversy
• Use intitle: to require a word to appear in the titles of your results: alaska intitle: superfund
• Use allintitle: to require multiple words to appear in the title of your results: allintitle: Alaska superfund cleanup

• Searching for Articles by Methodology

  Most databases don't have a direct way to search for journal articles by methodology.  However, a keyword search that combines a methodological term with your topic term(s) is usually effective. For example:

  If this retrieves no results, try a broader methodological term:

  

  You can search several relevant methodologies simultaneously by connecting the terms with "OR".  Use an asterisk as a truncation symbol, so you can find all versions of a root word (i.e. theor* finds theory, theories, theoretical, etc.)  For example:

  

Finding an Article by Citation

f you have a citation in hand, the library homepage can take you to the full text. Here's how:

From the Libraries' Homepage type the JOURNAL TITLE in the  E-Journals by Title search box. ALWAYS search for the title of the JOURNAL and not the article.

The resulting page will tell you if  we have that title electronically,

Click the link to see what is available electronically & where & for what years

But what if you need other years, which may be in print? Go back to GIL and do the advanced search:

You've already seen the information for the online version. Here's the second entry FROM THE GIL CATALOG (NOT THE E-JOURNALS TAB)--

Click on the "Available" link to see what years we IN PRINT. It's quaint, but sometimes just what you need: