You may want to follow coverage of issues related to your policy brief over time. Tow papers that over digital access for a long period of time are the Atlanta Constitution Historical Database and the New York Times Database. You will likely need to try a variety of keywords to get to articles most relevant to your topic--try names of people involved--for example the name of the governor in office at the time. If you are interested in exploring your topic in the 19th and early twentieth century, please explore the Georgia Historic Newspapers Collection If you want to explore how your issue or topic was discussed nationally, take a look at the New York Times and the Washington Post databases below.
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the Atlanta Constitution dating back to 1868. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF files. Coverage ends in 1984; more recent articles from the Atlanta Journal and Constitution can be found in LexisNexis Academic (selective content, 1991-).
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times dating back to its first issue in 1851. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF files. More recent articles from the New York Times can be found in the Factiva and LexisNexis Academic databases.
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the Washington Post dating back to 1877. Access is provided to digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in downloadable PDF files
Digitized Georgia Newspapers covering 1875-1923
The Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia (DLG), a part of Georgia’s Virtual Library GALILEO and is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use and includes over one million Georgia newspaper pages between 1786 and 1986. Most of the digitized newspapers end coverage in 1923, but some cover more recent periods. The University of Georgia's The Red and Black is available here.
