Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HDFS 4130 Family Policy : Primary Sources in UGA Special Collections (NOT digitized)

resources and information for Dr. Kozak's HDFS 4130 Family Policy Course

Overview

There are three special collections departments at the University of Georgia. All three have some materials available online through the Digital Library of Georgia, but a large percentage of their collections are only available in physical format via the reading rooms on the 3rd floor of the Special Collections Libraries. Instructions for searching and requesting materials from these departments are outlined below. 

Searching and Requesting Russell Library Collections

To search the collections of the Russell Library to see what is available in relation to your search term,  use the UGA Special Collections Finding Aid Gateway and set the Repository option to Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies

For instructions on requesting materials to view in the reading room, please visit How to Request Material 

 

Background information about the Russell Library and the scope of its collections as a whole

The Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies at the University of Georgia Libraries was established in 1974. The Library’s original mission was to collect and preserve materials that document the life and career of the late Richard B.  Russell, United States Senator from Georgia from 1933 to 1971; however, in the years since its founding, the Library’s mission has expanded tremendously. Serving as a center for research and study of the modern American political system, with particular emphasis on the role of Georgia and the U. S. Congress, the Russell Library focuses on the dynamic relationship of politics, policy, and culture—generated wherever public interest intersects with government. The breadth and depth of the Library’s collections provide an interconnected framework of perspectives and experiences for understanding the increasingly diverse people, events, and ideas shaping Georgia’s modern political landscape.

In the space of nearly four decades, the holdings of the Russell Library have expanded to include more than 300 collections of papers of post-1900 elected officials, political appointees, and individuals and groups representing, persuading, or observing the political and public policy processes in Georgia and the nation.

These collections include the personal papers of numerous federal and state appointees, members of Congress, governors, state legislators, judges, elected officials, political activists and observers, and the records of the state Democratic and Republican parties, the Georgia Public Policy Foundation, Leadership Georgia, the ACLU Chapter of Georgia, and the Athens-Clarke County League of Women Voters.  

The Russell Library collects all types and formats of records including: manuscripts, letters, diaries, reports, minutes, speeches, memoranda, printed materials, graphic materials,photographs, artifacts, audiovisual materials, oral histories, and electronic records (born digital files). 

Searching and Requesting Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collections

To search for materials in the Peabody Awards Database, use this search gateway (be sure to click the option to the limit results to titles available for online viewing.  

To search for materials in the Newsfilm Collections Database, use this search gateway (be sure to click the option to the limit results to digitized clip attached.

 

What you will find in the Brown media archives and Peabody Awards Collection

The Walter J. Brown Media Archive & Peabody Awards Collection was started in 1995 and currently preserves over 250,000 titles in film, video, audiotape, transcription disks, and other recording formats dating from the 1920s to the present. Our mission is to preserve, protect, and provide access to the moving image and sound materials that reflect the collective memory of broadcasting and the history of the state of Georgia and its people.

The Peabody Awards Collection contains nearly every entry for the first major broadcast award given in the United States. Entries begin in 1940 for radio and 1948 for television, and we receive at least 1,000 new entries every year --programs by local, national, cable, and international producers. The collection provides a cultural cross-section of television from its infancy to the present day, featuring news, documentary, entertainment, educational, and children's programming. Georgia history is highlighted in three newsfilm collections. The WSB Newsfilm Collection focuses on Atlanta but covers the entire Southeast; the WALB Newsfilm Collection contains raw news footage from Albany and surrounding areas from 1961 to 1978; and the WRDW Newsfilm Collection features footage of the Augusta area from 1961-1976.

Our non-broadcast collection of amateur film, video, and audiotape highlighting Georgia people, places, and musicians includes the Andrew Avery Home Movie Collection; the Kaliska-Greenblatt Home Movie Collection; the Georgia Folklore Collection of field recordings of Georgia folk musicians made by  the Georgia Folklore Society; and the Foxfire Collection, among others.