Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

JRLC 5490 History of Mass Media in the United States-SP21: Additional Resources to support and enhance your inspiration artifact

Guide to assignment and resources for course that draws upon digitized content to complete the assiignments

Great Digital Collections with Primary Sources

Digital Library of Georgia 
In addition to the digital collections from The University of Georgia, the Digital Library of Georgia has digitized content from archives and libraries around the state of Georgia. Here are just a few highlights:   

  • Media Related Materials encompasses a wide range of collections and materials related to media in Georgia 
  • Georgia Historical Newspaper Project The  project is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use and includes over one million Georgia newspaper pages between 1786 and 1986. (Includes The Red and Black)
  • Image Magazine Magazine that documented the everyday lives of the African American citizens of Athens, Georgia from 1977-1980.
  • Georgia Government Documents including messages from Georgia governors and reports form state agencies

Digital Public Library of America 
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)serves as a national hub for materials digitized by museums, libraries, and archives all over the United States including Georgia. DPLA offers both a search gateway for digitized materials and a series of curated exhibits of interpretive text and digital objects on major events or topics in American history. 

Library of Congress Digital Collections  
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.

Secondary Source Options (History-related)

GALILEO History-Related Databases 

  • America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes the Georgia Historical Quarterly 1955-present and seven other Georgia historical journals (dates vary).
  • Historical Abstracts  Index and abstracts to articles on world history 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).

  • JSTOR core journals in many fields from their first issue (dating to the 1700s in some cases) to 3-5 years ago
  • The New Georgia Encyclopedia provides access to authoritative information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. The site includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and includes links to related Internet sites.
  • ProjectMuse a full-text journal database for over 100 journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

Galileo Login information

Primary and Secondary Source Options (Journalism and Media Related)

GALILEO Journalism and Media Related Databases