Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

JRLC 5490 History of Mass Media in the United States-SP21: Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library

Guide to assignment and resources for course that draws upon digitized content to complete the assiignments

Hargrett Library Digital Collections

The Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library has a wide array of its collection materials available in digital format via the Digital Library of Georgia. Follow this link for a full overview and links to collection materials:

 

Background information about the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library and the scope of its collections as a whole

The Hargrett Library focuses on Georgia history and culture, holding rare books and Georgiana, historical manuscripts, photographs, maps, broadsides, and UGA archives and records. Other areas of emphasis include performing arts and natural history. Holdings date from the 15th century to the present.

The Hargrett Library advances the research, instructional, and service missions of the University of Georgia by collecting, preserving, and sharing the published and unpublished works that document the history and culture of our state. 

Among the Hargrett’s holdings is the Georgiana collection, the most complete assemblage of published works by Georgians and about Georgia: and a distinguished collection of rare books, maps, and broadsides featuring material from the De Rennes and Felix Hargrett.  The Library holds millions of original manuscripts and images, the raw material of history.  Hargrett also contains the University of Georgia Archives, which secures the institutional memory of America’s first state-chartered university.  The Hargrett is home to the Georgia Writer’s Hall of Fame, celebrating the achievements of Georgia writers and promoting the state’s literary heritage.

The oldest of the University of Georgia's Special Collections Libraries, the Hargrett Library first took shape with the purchase of the De Renne Library in the late 1930s.  For years known as Special Collections, the Hargrett Library was named in 1986 for Felix Hargrett, a University graduate and collector of rare books and manuscripts. 

Subject Guide

About the Digital Library of Georgia

The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life. This primary mission is accomplished through the ongoing development, maintenance, and preservation of digital collections and online digital library resources. The Digital Library of Georgia also provides digital library and micrographic services, and supports the instruction, research, and service missions of GALILEO and the University System of Georgia through collaboration with university faculty, students, and staff, and through participation on local and national levels in the development of digital library standards, practice, and technology. The Digital Library facilitates cooperative ventures with other organizations and provides leadership for cooperative digital initiatives throughout the state.