Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using Electronic Library Resources Remotely

Tips for using electronic library resources from remote locations and common solutions for access errors.

Students, faculty, and staff may use UGA Libraries' electronic resources (including academic journal articles, ebooks, and databases) from on and off-campus locations. Most content can be reached directly when working on campus. When working off-campus, plan to authenticate with UGA MyID credentials.
 


For reliable access to electronic content, use tools found on UGA Libraries' home page and GIL-Find catalog that are designed to prompt for MyID login before showing licensed material to off campus users. Visiting the same sites and resources from other starting points will not prompt for your MyID. 


If you do not have a UGA MyID but are an eligible affiliate, please contact Main Library Access Services at maincirc@uga.edu to inquire about options.


Minimum Technical Requirements

A computer or mobile device with a web browser and a stable Internet connection is required. Some electronic resources are optimized for desktop and laptop computers. Keep devices and software up to date and follow basic guidelines to secure them against malware and other threats to performance and safety. Restart devices and applications between work sessions to avoid authentication errors.

Reliable Access Options

Multisearch is the default search option in the middle of UGA Libraries' web site. Use it to search our local collection and several academic databases at once. Searching by title is frequently successful. You can also construct more advanced, targeted subject keyword searches. Initiating a search here should prompt you for your MyID credentials with a link at the top of your results:

undefined

Results may link directly to a full text PDF, full text HTML, full text on a third party site, or to the GIL-Find catalog; these links will have a different appearance depending on destination. You may be prompted for addtional MyID authentication.

 

Tip: Limit search results with the filters on the left hand side of the page, including full text options only. Full text is not available for all search results; Interlibrary Loan may be able to procure material not available through UGA Libraries.

Common Problem: Results saved to "My Folder" will not be saved indefinitely unless you create an EBSCO platform specific account. If your session expires and you try to return to open pages, you will see a time out error. You must initiate a new session from libs.uga.edu to re-authenticate. 

This video provides an excellent overview of Multi-Search (does not include off-campus authentication steps):

Databases A-Z list a directory of specific information resources by name. The link for this list is to the right of the Multisearch box on the UGA Libraries' web site.



Tips for using Databases A-Z:

  • Let the page to finish loading, then select the letter you want.
  • Some resources are listed with a publisher or vendor's name first. (ex: ProQuest, etc)
  • If you don't see what you need, try searching for the name in the box at the top right.
  • If you want to try a different keyword or find an additional resource, return to the main A-Z page first.
  • To copy the link for a particular database, right click on the name and choose "Copy Address." Note: these links may change over time as technology shifts; if a saved link no longer works, you may need to revisit the list.
  • You are encouraged to contact a librarian via chat to ask for help finding what you need or learn more about available resources for specific courses and areas of study.

     

 

The GIL-Find catalog is a database of UGA Libraries' collection, print and digital. Electronic journals and ebooks are accessed via GIL-Find. This tool:

  • Uses MyID login to display information about active loans, requests, and borrowing options
  • Prompts for MyID authentication as you follow links to electronic full text content.
  • Connects to the University System wide catalog; GIL-Express service allows book loans between UGA schools (not currently active due to COVID-19).
  • Can be searched directly or reached via Multi-Search or Google Scholar.


Inactive account error: "The login process has failed. Please refer to the library for assistance." If you attempt to log into your library account and receive the error above, please contact Access Services for assistance.

Web Browser Options

Google Chrome works with UGA Libraries' electronic resources in most cases. 

How to clear your web browser cache in Chrome.  Look for "Delete Specific Cookies" to manage cached files for specific web sites.


Some tools and resources are optimized for specific browsers.
 It is advisable to have at least two web browsers for troubleshooting and increased options for access. 

Mozilla Firefox works with UGA Libraries' electronic resources in most cases. 

How to clear your web browser cache in Firefox.
How to manage cached files for specific sites.

Some tools and resources are optimized for specific browsers. It is advisable to have at least two web browsers for troubleshooting and increased options for access. 

Microsoft Edge works reliably with UGA Libraries' electronic resources in most cases. 

How to view and delete browser history ​(clear cached files) in Edge.  

Some tools and resources are optimized for specific browsers. It is advisable to have at least two web browsers for troubleshooting and increased options for access. 

Apple's Safari works with many UGA Libraries' electronic resources, but is more prone to access errors. If Safari is your preferred web browser, plan to keep another browser on your computer for troubleshooting and increased options for access. Some tools and resources are optimized for specific browsers. 

How to manage cookies and website data (clear cached files) in Safari.

A significant amount of content can be viewed using mobile browser apps, but most electronic resources available via UGA Libraries are optimized for desktop and laptop computers. Your mobile device can still be a useful research tool when a computer is unavailable, and provides a control for troubleshooting access errors.