Some assignments ask students to find book reviews of older novels or nonfiction works from the time the book was published. Choose a section below based on the original date of publication of the work being reviewed:
20th century
- Book Review Digest, 1905-present (Main Reference 1st floor Z1219 .B724): An index to reviews of current fiction and nonfiction in English. Includes review citations and excerpts from some reviews.
- Book Review Index, 1964-present: An index to reviews appearing in over 230 periodicals.
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (Main Reference 1st floor PN94 .T93): Essays on literature and authors often include reviews in the bibliography section.
- Historical Newspapers Online (ProQuest): Full text of the Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post for the later 19th and 20th centuries.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984: Index to scholarly journals, including book reviews, in the humanities and social sciences.
- Periodicals Index Online, 1770-1990: Indexes journals in the social sciences and the humanities.
- Eight Centuries (formerly Poole's Plus / 19th-Century Masterfile), 1786-1922: Indexes journals in many fields.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective Index, 1890-1982: Indexes popular American magazines.
- Many 20th century scholarly book reviews are available in full-text or indexed in subject-specific scholarly databases or print sources; see the scholarly book reviews section of this guide.
19th century
- Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974 (Main Reference 1st floor Z1035.A1C60)
- Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974 (Main Reference 1st floor Z1035.A1B640)
- Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (Main Reference 1st floor PN761 .N5): Essays on literature and authors often include reviews in the bibliography section.
- American Periodicals Series (APS) Online, 1740-1900: Contains full-text articles from over 1100 American magazines.
- America's Historical Imprints, 1639-1819: Full text of books, pamphlets and broadsheets.
- Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876: Full text of newspapers.
- Historical Newspapers Online (ProQuest): Full text of the Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post for the later 19th and 20th centuries.
- Periodicals Index Online, 1770-1990: Indexes journals in the social sciences and the humanities.
- Eight Centuries (formerly Poole's Plus / 19th-Century Masterfile), 1786-1922: Indexes journals in many fields.
18th century and earlier
- Index to Book Reviews in England, 1749-1774 (Main Reference 1st floor Z1035 .A1 F67 1990): Indexes, by author and title, 3023 works of poetry, drama and fiction in English reviewed in 16 contemporary publications.
- Index to Book Reviews in England, 1775-1800 (Main Reference 1st floor Z1035 .A1 F675 1997)
Indexes, by author and title, 4984 works of poetry, drama and fiction in English reviewed in 26 contemporary publications.
- Literature Criticism From 1400 to 1800 (Main Reference 1st floor PN86 .L53): Essays on literature and authors often include reviews in the bibliography section.
- American Periodicals Series (APS) Online, 1740-1900: Contains full-text articles from over 1100 American magazines.
- Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876: Full text of newspapers.
- America's Historical Imprints, 1639-1819: Full text of books, pamphlets and broadsheets.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO), 1473-1700: Full text of books, pamphlets, and broadsheets published in the UK and British North America.
- Periodicals Index Online, 1770-1990: Indexes journals in the social sciences and the humanities.
