GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: HIST 7900 Theory and Practice-special collections resources: Digital Library of Georgia (DLG)

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Digital Library of Georgia

The Digital Library of Georgia works with Georgia memory institutions to make key resources about the history and culture of the state freely available online. The DLG hosts three portals, the Georgia Portal (dlg.usg.edu), Georgia Historic Newspapers (gahistoricnewspapers.galileo.usg.edu), and the Civil Rights Digital Library (crdl.galileo.usg.edu). With our partners at the New Georgia Encyclopedia and graduate student interns from institutions statewide, the DLG presents online exhibits featuring primary sources from its partners on its site Georgia Exhibits (georgia-exhibits.galileo.usg.edu). The DLG also participates in national efforts to digitize and aggregate primary sources such as the Digital Public Library of America (dp.la) and Chronicling America (chroniclingamerica.loc.gov).

Many of these sites allow mining of their content using APIs.

Georgia Portal

The Georgia portal (dlg.usg.edu) contains over 830,000 digitized items from approximately 200 cultural heritage institutions. Types of materials include photographs, maps, correspondence and other archival materials, artworks, moving images, and sound recordings.

Users may access materials by browsing collections, institutions, media types, and items that are free to reuse. The site has robust searching and includes searching of descriptive records and full-text when available and allows limiting of results using facets.

The site has an open API which allows harvesting of metadata records and utilizes a Mirador viewer for materials that are IIIF-compliant (International Image Interoperability Framework). You may also use the UGA DigiLab's DLG XML parser to create CSV files from the DLG's API feed.

Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL)

The Civil Rights Digital Library (crdl.galileo.usg.edu) contains over 55,000 digitized items from approximately 200 cultural heritage institutions nationwide. Types of materials include photographs, correspondence and other archival materials, moving images, and sound recordings.

Users may access materials by browsing events, places, people, media types (including educator resources), and contributing institutions. The site has robust searching of descriptive records and allows limiting of results using facets.

The site has an open API.

Chronicling America (NDNP)

Created through a partnership between the Library of Congress, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and state and territory partner organizations, the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) and its access site Chronicling America (https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/) provide full-text searching of over 20 million pages of U.S. public domain newspapers dating from the 1760s to 1963. The DLG is a NDNP partner.

Users may access the corpus of newspapers, title essays, and U.S. newspaper directory using an Open API.

Georgia Historic Newspapers (GHN)

Georgia Historic Newspapers (gahistoricnewspapers.galileo.usg.edu) consists of over 850 full-text searchable newspapers (2.7+ million pages) dating from the 1760s to the current day. The site includes African American, religious, college, LGBTQ newspapers in addition to papers of record and community newspapers.

The site has simple and advanced searching using proximity. Users can browse by region, dates, city, county, and type of newspaper.

The site has an open API which allows harvesting of information about titles and uncorrected full-text for public domain issues.

Georgia Exhibits

The Georgia Exhibits site (georgia-exhibits.galileo.usg.edu) is a partnership between the DLG and the New Georgia Encyclopedia. Graduate student interns from across the state curate exhibits on Georgia topics which feature primary and secondary sources from DLG's cultural heritage partners. Interns are selected via a competitive process.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

The Digital Public Library of America (dp.la) aggregates descriptive records for over 44 million digitized images, texts, moving image, and sound recordings from cultural heritage organizations nationwide. The site also contains online exhibitions and primary source sets. The DLG funnels descriptive records from its portals into the DPLA.

Users may interact with the site via its API or bulk download of the site's dataset.