Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 7900 Theory and Practice-special collections resources: Home

special collections and related service point resources

Welcome

Welcome to the University of Georgia's Special Collections Libraries and associated Libraries Service points new history graduate students resource guide.  This guide  is a companion to the annual new history grad student fiesta orientation hosted by special collections and friends each year in the fall semester. The guide  provides detailed  information and contacts for the general special collections building facilities and service points as well as the three special collections libraries:

  • Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library 
    • University Archives
  • Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies 
    • Russell Library Oral History Program
  • Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection

This guide also includes resources for related departments and services in the broader UGA Libraries that are often relevant for history graduate students including:

  • The Map and Government Information  Library (MAGIL)
    • GIS
  • The Digital Library of Georgia
  • The Willson Center Digital Humanities Lab

Jill Severn Archivist

Profile Photo
Jill Severn
she/her/hers
Contact:
Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries
300 South Hull St.
706-542-5766
Website

Sarah Guiterrez

Profile Photo
Sarah Gutierrez
she/her
Contact:
Special Collections Libraries
300 S. Hull St.
Athens, GA 30602
706-542-5438
Website

Christian Lopez

Sheila McAlister

Elliott Kuecker

Mazie Bowen

Profile Photo
Mazie Bowen
Contact:
300 South Hull Street, Athens, GA 30602
706-542-0618

Steve Armour

Profile Photo
Steve Armour
Contact:
Special Collections Libraries
University of Georgia
300 S. Hull St.
Athens, GA 30602
(706) 542-0667
Website

Mary Miller

Profile Photo
Mary Miller
Contact:
Richard B. Russell Building
UGA Special Collections Libraries
300 S. Hull St.

KC Carter

Profile Photo
Kathleen Carter
she / her
Contact:
Special Collections Libraries
300 South Hull Street, Athens, GA 30602
706-542-2757

Valerie Glenn

Profile Photo
Valerie Glenn
she/her/hers
Contact:
Map and Government Information Library
706-542-0664
Social: Twitter Page

Meagan Duever

Profile Photo
Meagan Duever
Contact:
Email: duever@uga.edu
Map & Government Information Library
Main Library sub-basement