This is the "Home" page of the "Integration @ UGA: A Guide to Resources in UGA Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Integration @ UGA: A Guide to Resources in UGA Special Collections   Tags: georgia, integration, uga  

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2013 URL: http://guides.libs.uga.edu/uga_integration Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Red and Black Headline, January 9, 1961

RandB

 

Integration @ UGA

Until 1961 the University of Georgia, like all Georgia state institutions of higher education, was segregated by both state law and social tradition. On January 6, 1961, history was made when the state's flagship school was issued a court ruling that ordered the immediate admission of two African American teenagers, Charlayne Hunter and Hamilton Holmes, and set the stage for the university to be thrust into the national spotlight as it dealt with the ensuing controversy, violence - and change.

 

About UGA Special Collections

Home page: www.libs.uga.edu/scl

Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Saturday, 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM

Contact: sclib@uga.edu or 706-542-7123

About: The mission of the University of Georgia Special Collections Libraries is to acquire, organize, preserve, and provide access to unique and rare materials related to the history and culture of Georgia. The Richard B. Russell Jr. Special Collections Libraries Building houses the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, including University Archives, the Richard B. Russell Jr. Library for Political Research and Studies, and the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection.

Your Library

Profile Image
Special Collections Libraries
Contact Info
706-542-7123
Send Email
 

Credits

Compiled by Renna Tuten and Emily Olivier, 3 May, 2012

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip