GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: Desegregation at UGA: A Guide to Resources in UGA Special Collections: Hargrett Library Resources

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Hargrett Library

Home page: www.libs.uga.edu/hargrett

Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Tuesdays and Thursdays, 8:00 AM to 7:00 PM

Contact: hargrett@uga.edu or 706-542-7123

About: The Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library advances the research, instructional, and service mission of the University of Georgia by collecting, preserving, and providing access to the published and unpublished works that document the evolving history and culture of Georgia and its peoples. The Hargrett Library documents the state’s literary, cultural, social, and economic legacy; and it builds collections of distinction in other areas, including natural history, ecology and environmentalism, history of the book, performing arts, women’s history, journalism, print media, and University history.

Collections of the Hargrett Library

William Tate desegregation files (Digital Library of Georgia)
William Tate desegregation files finding aid
The materials in this collection document events surrounding the desegregation through the lens of Dean of Men William Tate. The clippings, legislative reports, petitions, and correspondence that comprise the collection serve as both a record of the steps involved in desegregating the University and the span of public opinion--both local and nationwide--on the events at the time. Dean Tate's role in overseeing and responding to student conduct in the aftermath of desegregation is a major topic of the collection.
O.C. Aderhold papers (Digital Library of Georgia)
O.C. Aderhold papers finding aid
The collection documents the administrative business of the University of Georgia during O.C. Aderhold's next hit tenure as president, 1950-1967. Series 6 of the collection address desegregation through administrative correspondence and letters from the public expressing support or opposition to desegregation.
Walter Danner papers finding aid
As UGA's Director of Admissions and Registrar and the defendant in the case Holmes vs. Danner, Walter Danner played a significant role in the University's resistance to desegregation. The collection includes correspondence, court records, clippings, and perspectives from UGA students and faculty.
Dean of Women records: Edith L. Stallings and Louise McBee finding aid
Under Stallings and McBee's leadership the Office of the Dean of Women dealt with many social changes including the desegregation of the University of Georgia campus in 1961. Relevant records and correspondence and be found in boxes 1 and 2.
J. Alton Hosch papers finding aid
J. Alton Hosch was Dean of the UGA Law School from 1935 to 1964. He served in this capacity when Horace Ward became the first African American applicant to challenge racial discrimination in UGA's admissions process when he applied to the Law School in 1950. Hosch's papers document both the Horace Ward case and the eventual desegregation of the University in 1961.
Mary Frances Early papers finding aid
Mary Frances Early was the first African American student to earn a degree from the University of Georgia, which she accomplished in 1962. Among other materials, her papers contain a letter from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. praising her courage and efforts.

Desegregation at UGA: A Guide to Resources in UGA Special Collections: Hargrett Library Resources

Hargrett Library

Collections of the Hargrett Library

Your Library