Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Desegregation at UGA: A Guide to Resources in UGA Special Collections: Brown Media Archives Resources

Brown Media Archives

Home Page: www.libs.uga.edu/media

Hours: By appointment only, Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM and Saturday, 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM

Contact: Ruta Abolins, abolins@uga.edu, 706-542-4757

About: The Walter J. Brown Media Archive & Peabody Awards Collection was started in 1995 and currently preserves over 250,000 titles in film, video, audiotape, transcription disks, and other recording formats dating from the 1920s to the present. The archives are housed in the Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries on the northwest part of the University of Georgia campus. Our mission is to preserve, protect, and provide access to the moving image and sound materials that reflect the collective memory of broadcasting and the history of the state of Georgia and its people.

 

Collections of the Brown Media Archives

The WSB Newsfilm Collection contains over 5 million feet of newsfilm dating from 1949 to 1981. Footage pertaining to the integration of UGA includes clips of public officials - such as the governor and members of the Board of Regents - making statements, Holmes and Hunter-Gault on campus at the university, and student reactions in Athens..

The Peabody Awards Collection contains all entries to the George Foster Peabody Awards, the oldest and most prestigious award in electronic media. Among the over 80,000 programs in the collection is a 1961 documentary that explored school desegregation in Atlanta called A Tale of Two Cities, 1961.

"A Tale of Two Cities, 1961 consists of two half-hour programs describing the manner in which Atlanta and Dallas prepared for school integration in the fall of 1961. Each program contains interviews with officials, civic leaders and others directly involved in each city in the preparation for public school de-segregation."--1961 Peabody Digest.

Part 1 focuses on Atlanta. Reporter Ed Planer discusses the integration of the University of Georgia, widely thought to have paved the way for a peaceful transition in Atlanta schools. Includes interviews with School Board president Jim O’Callaghan; Mrs. Phillip Hammer of Organizations Assisting Schools In September, or O.A.S.I.S.; "race mixing" foe Lester Maddox; the Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr.; Chief of Police Herbert Jenkins; and Atlanta mayor William Hartsfield, who says that Atlanta is "a city too busy to hate." The consensus on all sides is that, since desegregation is now legally mandated, peaceful integration is in everyone’s best interests and is likely to occur. Includes views of downtown Atlanta streets and aerial views of the city. Corporon concludes by noting that Atlanta studied New Orleans’ problematic, violent school integration as a negative example.

 

Your Library

Address: 300 S. Hull St., Athens, GA 30602
Email: sclib@uga.edu   
Phone: (706) 542-7123