GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: SOCI 3580: Research Methods in Sociology: Search for Articles

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

Hours

Main Library

7:30am – 2:00am

Circulation Desk

7:30am – 2:00am

Digital Humanities Lab

7:30am – 2:00am

Interlibrary Loan Office

8:00am – 5:00pm

Reference Desk

9:00am – 10:00pm

Best Bets

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to articles in sociology.
SocINDEX with Full Text features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to articles in sociology.
Sociological Abstracts is a primary resource for accessing research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. International in scope, over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations are covered. Records added after 1974 contain nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Included in the database is the searchable Thesaurus of Sociological Indexing Terms.
Social Science Citation Index (at Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index is a subset of Web of Science within Web of Knowledge. Web of Science also includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. These databases may be searched separately, in any combination, or all at once.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.

AND, OR, & NOT

Use AND, OR, and NOT to connect your keywords and tell the database exactly how you want it to search for your terms. These terms help you combine or exclude words in your search for more relevant results.

Operator	Examples	Results
AND	income AND education	Results contain ALL of the search terms.
OR	income OR salary OR wealth	Results contain ANY of the search terms, but not necessarily all of them.
NOT	Georgia NOT Alabama	Excludes results containing the second search term.

Truncation & Phrase Searching

Truncation or wildcard symbols allow you to look for variations of words. They often broaden your search results.

Example: searching for sport* would bring up variations such as sport, sports, sporting, sporty, etc.

Note: The truncation symbol is usually an asterisk (*) but can vary by database. Consult the database’s “help” or “search tips” pages for details.

Use quotation marks for phrase searching, i.e. "University of Georgia"

Note: searching "communication studies" tells the database to look for these words in this exact order - this phrase, instead of finding communication in one sentence and studies in another.

Search Strategy Builder

This tool is designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. Cut and paste the search string results into the search box of a library database or search engine.

Cut and paste the results above into the search box of a library database or search engine.

Developed by the University of Arizona Libraries and is used under a Creative Commons License.