Buses to Special Collections Library
5:30 – 6:00 p.m.
Dinner
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.
Exhibits & Tours
4-H and the Insect World
Auditorium, Room 271; screenings at 6:00, 6:30, 7:00, 7:30, 8:00
Travel back in time with this short film produced in 1957 by the Department of Agriculture’s Federal Extension Service. A farmer's son learns about insects and how to combat them through his 4-H club's entomology projects. This film is part of the J. Aubrey Smith Collection, Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection. Run time: 27 minutes.
Explore Science Topics through Special Collections
Room 258, 6:00-8:30 p.m.
Join staff members of the Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies and the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library for an up close look at the collections. Curators have selected historic documents and artifacts related to the topics presenters will touch on during conference sessions.
Antiquarian Books on Coral and Coral Reefs
Room 268, 6:00-8:30 p.m.
Dr. Porter worked as an undergraduate student research assistant in the Beinecke Rare Book Library at Yale University in 1969 and has been an avid book collector ever since. The books on display this evening are part of his professional library on corals and coral reefs. This collection contains more than 2,500 volumes, and is estimated to have approximately 85% of all books on this subject back to the 1500s. Several of the books that will be shown have historical significance, including one of only 7 known copies Dana's 1848 "The Atlas of Zoophytes." This giant folio of corals was hand water colored by the same Philadelphia artists who painted James J. Audubon's “Birds of America.” This volume was commissioned by Thomas Jefferson as part of his U.S. Exploring Expedition –which was the marine counterpart of his terrestrial Lewis & Clarke Expedition.
Tour the Vault
Tours offered at 7:00, 7:30, 8:00 p.m.; signup for a time slot at conference info table
Join vault manager Paul Van Wicklen for a guided tour of the high density storage vault, a thirty thousand square foot space that stores the majority of collection items for the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, The Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection, and the Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies. Climate controlled for 50 degrees and 30 percent relative humidity, ideal conditions for preserving documents, it makes for a chilly space – so be sure to bring a sweater or light jacket! Tours will last approximately 20 minutes.
Discover the Exhibit Galleries
Open and staffed with docents from 6:00-9:00p.m.
Take time to explore the galleries and thematic exhibits on display, each representing one of the Special Collection Libraries. Feature exhibits currently on display include: From Page to Stage: Women and Drama in the 18th and 19th Centuries; John Abbot: Georgia’s Early Naturalist Artist; Olympic Legacy; Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence: The George Foster Peabody Awards; Selections from the Georgia Disability History Archive; and Seeing Georgia: Changing Visions of Tourism in the Modern South.
