GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: Public Health: GALILEO Databases

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Best Bets

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to the literature of nursing and allied health with full text.
CINAHL provides access to abstracts and indexing, as well as full text, for more than 1,835 nursing and allied health journals, publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing, nursing dissertations, and selected other biomedical journals. Limited coverage of psychology and management literature is also included. Print index covers 1977- .
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Index to research on biomedical life sciences.
Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene.
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Covers 800 health administration and health policy journals
ProQuest Healthcare Administration Database is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including: Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business management, Personnel management, Ethics, Health economics, Public health administration
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The major index for articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology. The American Psychological Association offers a YouTube playlist on using PsycINFO via EBSCOHost.
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some articles are available in full text. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals from nearly 50 countries. The historic portion of the database comes from from three sources: Psychological Abstracts (1927-1966), Psychological Bulletin (1921-1926), and all journals published by the American Psychological Association plus the American Journal of Psychology from the first issue of volume 1, number 1 in November 1887.
Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 60,000 references are added annually.

PsycINFO online help:

PsycINFO Search Help/Training Center includes Search Tips and How-To's and a search guide specific to the EBSCOhost interface.
The APA also offers YouTube videos on how to use PsycINFO.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts of journal articles in the health sciences with links to full text.
PubMed is the publicly available version of MEDLINE and combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. PubMed includes citations to articles from 1966 to the present and links from citations to full-text articles from 100 journals 1990 to the present. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.

All Databases for Public Health

Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new window
Index to social gerontology literature.
Abstracts in Social Gerontology provides indexing, abstracts, and some full text for primarily scholarly articles related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly.
Ageline This link opens in a new window
Index to social gerontology journals.
Ageline provides bibliographic citations of social gerontology journals. These include periodicals that focus on aging in psychological, health-related, and social and economic contexts. The delivery of health care to the older population and its associated costs and policies is covered as well as consumer, employment, and public policy issues. Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP)
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health.
Alt HealthWatch focuses on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full-text content comes from more than 160 international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
BioCyc This link opens in a new window
The BioCyc collection of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) provides electronic reference sources on the pathways and genomes of many organisms..Recommended browsers are Firefox and Chrome.
The BioCyc collection of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) provides electronic reference sources on the pathways and genomes of many organisms. BioCyc databases describe organisms with sequenced genomes. BioCyc is primarily microbial. In addition, BioCyc contains databases for humans; for important model organisms such as yeast, fly, and mouse; and for other eukaryotes whose PGDBs have been curated. One reason for collecting all these PGDBs together within BioCyc is to enable the comparative analyses that become possible when multiple PGDBs are available within one site (see Tools Comparative Analysis). PGDBs have been created for many other organisms, including microbes, fungi, plants, and animals.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research in the life sciences and clinical medicine.
BioMed Central publishes peer-reviewed, original research in a wide variety of life sciences and clinical medicine journals.
BioMed Central can also be searched for abstracts and citations. The full text of articles is available for those articles marked Free or Open Access. Those marked Subscription are not available from BioMed Central, but may be available via the 'FindIt@UGA' button.
BIOSIS This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to international journal articles, conference papers, and books in biological and medical research.
The BIOSIS Citation Index database provides content from the BIOSIS Previews database plus powerful citation searching from Web of Science. The mission of BIOSIS, a not-for-profit organization established in 1926, is to foster growth, communication and use of biological knowledge for the common good. The database covers over 6,000 journals and documents from more than 1,500 international meetings, as well as review articles, books, book chapters and monographs in the life sciences including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, botany, ecology, environment, microbiology, pharmacology and public health.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to the literature of nursing and allied health with full text.
CINAHL provides access to abstracts and indexing, as well as full text, for more than 1,835 nursing and allied health journals, publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing, nursing dissertations, and selected other biomedical journals. Limited coverage of psychology and management literature is also included. Print index covers 1977- .
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making (assessment, reviews, controlled trials register, etc.).
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making (assessment, reviews, controlled trials register, etc.). These databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, encyclopedias, reports, videos, and other content on consumer-oriented health topics.
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, men and women's health, and more.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Index to research on biomedical life sciences.
Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Information on measurement instruments in the psychosocial sciences.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. The database contains several categories of content:
- Citations to actual test documents that copyright holders authorize BMDS to make available
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Covers 800 health administration and health policy journals
ProQuest Healthcare Administration Database is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including: Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business management, Personnel management, Ethics, Health economics, Public health administration
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Discover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles for nursing and allied health professionals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 520 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines as well as abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals. Also included are the USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts of journal articles in the health sciences with links to full text.
MEDLINE (with Full Text) combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,000 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. It also includes MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from current biomedical journals, citations from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
The Merck Index Online is an authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. It is available from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
The Merck Index* Online offers authoritative information in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs - including historic records not available in the print edition. The Merck Index* Online will be updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.
Gale Nursing & Allied Health Collection (formerly InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
Provide access to authoritative content supporting nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Provide access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text (formerly Dissertation Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from academic institutions around the world, including UGA beginning with Fall 2019. Earlier UGA theses and dissertations are in the 'Electronic Theses & Dissertations' database.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text provides full text access to about 1.9 million dissertations and theses granted by academic institutions worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Basic information for a smaller number of dissertations and theses that are not available in full text is also included in this database.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The major index for articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology. The American Psychological Association offers a YouTube playlist on using PsycINFO via EBSCOHost.
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some articles are available in full text. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals from nearly 50 countries. The historic portion of the database comes from from three sources: Psychological Abstracts (1927-1966), Psychological Bulletin (1921-1926), and all journals published by the American Psychological Association plus the American Journal of Psychology from the first issue of volume 1, number 1 in November 1887.
Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 60,000 references are added annually.

PsycINFO online help:

PsycINFO Search Help/Training Center includes Search Tips and How-To's and a search guide specific to the EBSCOhost interface.
The APA also offers YouTube videos on how to use PsycINFO.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text
ProQuest Public Health is a new and unique database; designed to be the ideal starting point for public health information and research. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts of journal articles in the health sciences with links to full text.
PubMed is the publicly available version of MEDLINE and combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. PubMed includes citations to articles from 1966 to the present and links from citations to full-text articles from 100 journals 1990 to the present. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Find articles related to social work theory and practice, social services, and social problems.
Social Work Abstracts, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, this contains references dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of physical education journals.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text covers physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. These databases may be searched separately, in any combination, or all at once.
These databases are unique in that the user can search to find which articles have cited a certain author or article. This technique of doing research, called pearl growing, allows researchers to find articles that are related to an earlier work. Often this technique turns up articles which are not found through traditional subject and keyword searches.

Your Librarian

Public Health: GALILEO Databases

Best Bets

All Databases for Public Health

Related Guides

Your Librarian

Chat with Library Staff