The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work. Comprehensive entries include terms and concepts from all areas of the discipline with extensive bibliographies. See relevant articles on "Philosophy of Technology," "Michel Foucault," "Phenomenological Approaches to Ethics and Information Technology," etcetera.
Call Number: Main Library 1st floor Reference B51 .R68 1998
ISBN: 9780415073103
Publication Date: 1998
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy consists of ten volumes with over 2000 entries ranging from 500 to 15,000 words in length - thematic, biographical and national.
Call Number: Main Library 1st floor Reference B2430.F724 C36 2014
ISBN: 9780521119214
Publication Date: 2014
The Cambridge Foucault Lexicon is a reference tool that provides clear and incisive definitions and descriptions of all of Foucault's major terms and influences, including history, knowledge, language, philosophy and power. It also includes entries on philosophers about whom Foucault wrote and who influenced Foucault's thinking, such as Deleuze, Heidegger, Nietzsche and Canguilhem.
Authoritative and comprehensive reference illuminating the ethical, political, social, and legal issues related to science, engineering, and technology.
GILFind Catalog of what the UGA Libraries own and where we keep it.
GIL Express: Catalog of libraries across the University System of Georgia; click "Request" to get a book from another library.
WorldCat: A global catalog of library collections. Find materials in libraries in your community or around the world.
Google Books and HathiTrust Digitized print collections from a number of major university libraries. Both are useful for mining the contents of books on library shelves. Most of the books from the 20th-21st century are still in copyright and can only be viewed in snippets online. You can still often view tables of contents and introductions as well as search for keywords within the book. Once you've identified a book you can use, search GIL-Find to see if UGA owns it.
Schwan and Shapiro take a plain-speaking, yet detailed, approach, specifically designed to give students a thorough understanding of one of the most influential texts in contemporary cultural theory.
A powerful and innovative argument that explores the complexity of the human relationship with material things, demonstrating how humans and societies are entrapped into the maintenance and sustaining of material worlds.
The new edition of this authoritative introduction to the philosophy of technology includes recent developments in the subject, while retaining the range and depth of its selection of seminal contributions and its much-admired editorial commentary.
A comprehensive index and bibliography of books, journals, and journal articles in Philosophy. Also links to open access archives and personal pages for articles by academic philosophers.
PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
The Philosopher's Index,produced by the Philosophers Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher's Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The database covers the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
Full text scholarly journals with back issues from the date of first publication. Also includes some e-books.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
Anthropology Plus is a compilation of the two major anthropology indexes: Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
Anthropology Plus is a compilation of Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature. This broad and rich resource provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, interdisciplinary studies, etc.
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. These databases may be searched separately, in any combination, or all at once.
These databases are unique in that the user can search to find which articles have cited a certain author or article. This technique of doing research, called pearl growing, allows researchers to find articles that are related to an earlier work. Often this technique turns up articles which are not found through traditional subject and keyword searches.
Search 130+ GALILEO databases, the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog and the Digital Library of Georgia for full-text articles, books and much more in a single streamlined search
