GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: PHIL 3000: Ancient Western Philosophy: Finding Sources

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Background, Bibliographies, Primary Sources

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works are a great place to start for background and can help you:

understand the basics of your topic, in clear nontechnical language.
identify useful keywords that you can use to search for articles or books.
find the titles of scholarly books and articles on your topic (look in the bibliography).

The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Simon Hornblower et. al.
Call Number: Main Library 1st floor Reference: Main Ref DE5 .O9 2012
ISBN: 9780199545568
Publication Date: 2012
In over 6,700 entries written by the very best of classical scholars from around the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law,science, art, archaeology, near eastern studies, and late antiquity.

Oxford Classical Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Online edition of the Oxford Classical Dictionary
In its digital form, the new OCD is a continuously updated and ever-expanding resource that will ensure scholarship remains current and reflective of emerging subfields and perspectives.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (online)
Comprehensive online encyclopedia of philosophy terms and concepts from all areas of the discipline.
Be sure to check out entries for specific dialogues (Theaetetus, Sophists, etc.), which include a summary of its plot; leading interpretations of the dialogue; explanation and discussion of the main arguments of the chief divisions of the dialogue; some afterthoughts about the dialogue as a whole; and an extensive bibliography for further reading.

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Classics This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies of the most recent and authoritative classical scholarship. Be sure to check the annotated bibliographies for the dialogues, including Plato's Theatetus, Plato's Sophist, etc.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Loeb Classical Library. Offers introductions, texts, and translations of ancient Greek and Latin writings, making it a key resource for primary sources.
The digital Loeb Classical Library is an online version of the Loeb Classical Library series. This series offers introductions, texts, and translations of ancient Greek and Latin writings, making it a key resource for primary sources. There are more than 500 discrete volumes spanning from Homer (700 BCE) to Bede (700 CE). Most major classical authors are covered and new editions are added each year.

Articles & Books

Articles
Books

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals with back issues from the date of first publication. Also includes some e-books.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index and bibliography of books, journals, and journal articles in Philosophy. Also links to open access archives and personal pages for articles by academic philosophers.
PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles and books in Classical Studies.
An annual bibliography for research into all aspects of Classical Studies, L'Annee Philologique indexes about 1500 journals from all over the world as well as books, festschriften, dissertations, articles in collections, and book reviews. Coverage begins with citations from 1959 and continues to the present although at present the most recent citations are approximately two years old.
For the period 1914-1958, use the print volumes in the Main Library Reference Room.

Multisearch
Search 130+ GALILEO databases, the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog and the Digital Library of Georgia for full-text articles, books and much more in a single streamlined search

GILFind Catalog of what the UGA Libraries own and where we keep it.
GIL Express: Catalog of libraries across the University System of Georgia; click "Request" to get a book from another library.
WorldCat: A global catalog of library collections. Find materials in libraries in your community or around the world.
Google Books and HathiTrust Digitized print collections from a number of major university libraries. Both are useful for mining the contents of books on library shelves. Most of the books from the 20th-21st century are still in copyright and can only be viewed in snippets online. You can still often view tables of contents and introductions as well as search for keywords within the book. Once you've identified a book you can use, search GIL-Find to see if UGA owns it.

Your Librarian

Related Guides

Philosophy
by Emily Hopkins Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 76 views this year
Classics
by Emily Hopkins Last Updated Mar 29, 2024 296 views this year