Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the UGA Libraries!
Setting up your library account
Visit any of the UGA Campus Libraries circulation desks to obtain a library card. They will verify your OLLI membership status, issue you a card, and set you up with a library account. They will also set you up with an OpenAthens account to access our online resources from off campus.
Please note that the GALILEO password will no longer be used to sign into our online resources as of December 21, 2020. OLLI members may contact Access Services to get a new OpenAthens account.
For help, contact Access Services:
UGA Libraries Hours - Main and Science Library / Special Collections Libraries
Special Collections Libraries
The mission of the University of Georgia Special Collections Libraries is to acquire, organize, preserve, and provide access to unique and rare materials related to the history and culture of Georgia.
The Richard B. Russell Jr. Special Collections Libraries Building houses the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, including University Archives, the Richard B. Russell Jr. Library for Political Research and Studies, and the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection.
Leisure Reading: Housed in both the Main and Science Libraries. A smaller collection of popular non-fiction and fiction books based on staff recommendations and the latest New York Times bestseller lists.
Main Library: Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
Science Library: Physical and Life Sciences and (Cookbooks!)
This is a quick guide to what types of materials can be borrowed by whom and for how long. For normal borrowing privilege times, renewal information, item limits, and fines, please refer to the Borrowing Privileges page.
Please note, this is meant to be a general guideline. Individual items or patrons may at times differ from what is shown in this chart. If you have any questions, ask Access Services and/or the appropriate library department.
PLEASE NOTE: No items circulate from the following collections:
- Hargrett Rare Books & Manuscripts Library
- Georgia Room
- Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies
- Miller Learning Center Reading Room
- Curriculum Materials Library Reference Items
- Music Library Reference Items
- Map Library
- Visit the Services page for information about copying and scanning options.
- Atlases Patrons may request that atlases be sent to either the Main or Science Library for in-house use by filling out the "Material Request Form" at the bottom of the item's GIL record screen. Retrievals take one to two business days and are not done on weekends. Only those books and atlases in good condition will be retrieved on demand; the Map Library reserves the right to deny requests for atlases it considers rare, fragile or damaged. Requested items are for in-house use only at the specified pickup location.
Archival Research @UGA Special Collections: A How-To Guide
An archives is a place where people go to find information. But rather than gathering information from books as you would in a library, people who do research in archives often gather firsthand facts, data, and evidence from letters, reports, notes, memos, photographs, audio and video recordings, and other primary sources.
- American Archives Month 2007
UGA Libraries Research Guides
Floor Maps for each building are available. Don't hesitate to ask for help at the Service desks on each entry level.
Librarians are available to help you in person at each library, as well as by phone (706-542-3251), email, and chat.
Contact a librarian for your subject area:
Arrange an individual meeting with a librarian or archivist for help with your research.