This is the "What Are Archives?" page of the "Archival Research @ UGA Special Collections: A How-To Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archival Research @ UGA Special Collections: A How-To Guide  

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2013 URL: http://guides.libs.uga.edu/uga_archives Print Guide RSS Updates

What Are Archives? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What ARE Archives? And how do I find ours?

An archives is a place where people go to find information. But rather than gathering information from books as you would in a library, people who do research in archives often gather firsthand  facts, data, and evidence from letters, reports, notes, memos, photographs, audio and video recordings, and other primary sources. 

- American Archives Month 2007


Where is the Special Collections Library? What does it look like? 

We're located on the corner of Hull and Waddell Streets one block behind the Holiday Inn on Broad Street and one block west of Lumpkin Street.

Home pagewww.libs.uga.edu/scl

Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Saturday, 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM

Contact: sclib@uga.edu or 706-542-7123

About: The mission of the University of Georgia Special Collections Libraries is to acquire, organize, preserve, and provide access to unique and rare materials related to the history and culture of Georgia. The Richard B. Russell Jr. Special Collections Libraries Building houses the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, including University Archives, the Richard B. Russell Jr. Library for Political Research and Studies, and the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection.

Your Library

Profile Image
Special Collections Libraries
Contact Info
706-542-7123
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip