Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTL 4370: Middle Eastern Political Systems (Ben Shitrit): Home

Middle East Map

Scholarly Databases

Historical Abstracts:  Database of articles organized by historical period.

Index Islamicus (EBSCO):  Index to journal articles, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim World, from 1906 to the present. 

International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center:  Articles, reports, and background summaries on security and terrorism.

Peace Research Abstracts:  Indexes and summarizes articles related to peace research.

Political Science Complete:  Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.

ProQuest Military:  Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

Raw Data

If you're looking for datasets, that is actual numerical data from a study, our Data Services librarian has put together a list of common repositories organized by subject.

If you don't see or find what you need, please feel free to contact me!

RAW Data Repositories

Getting Full Text Articles

If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:

  • Simply click on the link and you will have access to the article.

If it does NOT have those links:

  • Click on the FindIt@UGA button under the result;
  • If we have access to article in another database, a link either directly to the article or to the online version of the journal will be provided;

All GALILEO databases have the FindIt@UGA button to help you access the full text articles in the UGA Libraries.

GIL Express and InterLibrary Loan

GIL EXPRESS

You can borrow book from all 32 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.  

First, search the GIL Catalog and find the book you want.  Make sure you choose University System of Georgia from the dropdown menu.  Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.

Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on My Account at the top of the page to log in with your MyID and password.

After you log in, you will be able to click on the Request link.  The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system.  This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.

ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy.  They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.

Multi-disciplinary databases

The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 130 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.  

ProQuest Central is a resource which allows you to search 30 databases which are not indexed in the Multi-Search.

This means you can search broadly for your topic amongst databases which contain newspapers, magazines, and scholarly articles and books.  

Things to remember:

1) The Multi Search doesn't search everything the Libraries has access to electronically.  We have over 500 databases and this resource searches only a quarter of them.  There are several excellent databases that aren't in the Multi Search!  

ProQuest Central allows you to search a portion of the databases NOT in the Multi-Search (30 in total).  If you aren't finding what you want in the Multi-Search, try ProQuest Central.

2) Beware of the fire hydrant effect!  If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this.  Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need.  If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database listed below.

Placing Book Requests in the UGA Catalog

You can also Request books from a Library that can be delivered to other Libraries on campus.

First, Sign in to your Library Account using your MyID and password.  After you click on the link for the book, under "Get It," you should see a link:  "Request."

 

 

Choose which library you want the book delivered to and it will be held for you.  (You also can do this with books from other USG libraries and have them delivered to UGA).

 

Google Scholar

If you prefer to use Google Scholar, there is a way to access UGA's subscriptions while you search.  Click on the button, then on "Library Links."  Search for University of Georgia, and select it.

 

Your Librarian

Elizabeth White's picture
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website