Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Digital Collections
The Metropolitan Museum of Art Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. The Timeline extends from prehistory to the present day.
The Frick Collection Photoarchive
The Photoarchive is a study collection of more than one million photographic reproductions of works of art by fourth to mid-twentieth century artists trained in the Western tradition. Each photograph is accompanied by historical documentation that traces the essential elements of the biography of a work of art — changes of attribution, ownership, and condition.
MoMA Exhibition History
The Museum of Modern Art has digitized their entire exhibition history archive, from their founding in 1929 to the present. Includes installation views, checklists, press releases and complete exhibition catalogs.
This is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University.
Access to the catalog is open to the general public.
Open Source Image Databases
Collection of artworks from galleries around the world. Since it focuses on objects for sale, it includes many contemporary artists.
Bildindex der Kunst & Architektur
Over 2 million photographs of art and buildings in Germany and Europe.
Flickr Creative Commons
Millions of high resolution images available for download. Best for architecture, cultural landmark, or contextual images.
Google Arts & Culture
Contains extremely high resolution images of over 32,000 works of art from 46 museums worldwide.
Web Gallery of Art
Searchable database of European fine arts and architecture (8-19th centuries).
Database of over 34 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.