GradGuide: Introduction to research and scholarship training: Popular InterdisciplinaryDatabases

Web of Science

Web of Science isn't just for STEM. Web of Science (WoS) Contains the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Humanities Citation Index.

• Guide to starting a basic search.

Google Scholar though UGA Libraries

• Use UGA's Google Scholar
• Setting up Google Scholar on your computer.

PubMed

PubMed isn't just medical. You'll find research related to social relationships and groups, social behavior, along with group well-being.

• Guide (developed for Vet Med, so examples in that area)

EBSCOHost Databases

EBSCO is a dattabase publisher. Databases such as ERIC and PsycINFO have the same EBSCO interface, so the EBSCOHost searching guide will give tips applicable to both.

• Searching Guide

ERIC

Eric is known as the primary education database, but much research done on school-aged populations is indexed here.

PsycINFO

Both ERIC and PsycINFO have the same interface for their thesaurus feature. This guide from the APA on PsycINFO should provide a good introduction.

JSTOR

• JSTOR search help

An important idea in database searching is translation. Translation takes the same concepts, but changes the syntax to make a relevant search for different databases. Here are examples taken from the very good search translation resource for systematic reviews at Cornell. Check it out.

Make yourself a database expert.

• Your databases can do more than just search. Learn how to use Alerts and Saved Searches.
• Full Text Hacks - Learn about browser plugins, links from out databases and more.