GIL-Find: GIL-Find is the UGA Libraries' catalog for locating books, ebooks, and media in the Main Library, Science Library, and Special Collections. GIL-Find also lets you search (and borrow from) the other libraries in the University System of Georgia -- just change the search option from "University of Georgia" to "University System of Georgia." When searching by subject, use the standardized Library of Congress Subject Headings to locate the most relevant books. For help viewing and downloading ebooks, see this guide.
ProQuest;s Ebook Central and Ebsco's Ebook Collection are the two largest collections of ebooks UGA owns. Going straight to either of these two sites lets you search within the content of the ebooks available.
WorldCat: A shared catalog of books owned by libraries worldwide, although mostly in North America, Great Britain, and Western Europe. Use the Advanced Search to search by subject.
Google Books and HathiTrust: Although not traditional library catalogs, Google Books and HathiTrust are projects that digitized print collections in a number of major university libraries. Both are useful in mining the contents of books on library shelves. Some of the books are out of copyright and may be read online. Others are still within copyright and can only be viewed in snippets, but you can still search for keywords within them. Once you've identified a book you need, if it's not available online click on 'Find in a library' or search GIL-Find. UGA users of HathiTrust may log in to see available full-text books as PDFs and save them to a personal bookshelf.
LION: A searchable collection of over 350,000 full-text works of poetry, drama, and fiction.
Early English Books Online (EEBO): Digitized facsimiles of nearly every book, pamphlet, sermon, almanac, and other works printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British North America between 1473-1700.
Eighteenth-Century Collections Online: Digitized texts of almost all items published in the U.K. between 1710-1800 as well as many North American publications from the same time period.
America's Historical Imprints: Full-text collection of books and pamphlets published in America between 1639-1819; based on the famous bibliographies by Evans, Shaw, and Shoemaker as well as more recent discoveries by The Library Company of Philadelphia.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926: Full-text books, periodicals, pamphlets, and other documents published about America during these years.