Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Magic by Telephone
The lines are open and the auto-attendant will provide you with choices and instructions...
Chicago artist Jeanette Andrew has whipped up a mysterious new piece you can explore from home. Call her magic hotline 1-855-BY-MAGIC to listen to a set of instructions that guide you through short illusions that unfold with a deck of cards, a dictionary, or your own hands.
An homage to the 1969 MCA Chicago exhibition "Art by Telephone," these short amusements will look and feel a lot like magic tricks, and can be enjoyed in the comfort of your home.
Online Museum Resources
The Ultimate Guide to Virtual Museum Resources, E-Learning, and Online Collections
Access to endless open content. Educational resources for e-learning. Virtual retreats to art, culture, and history around the globe. Free to access and enjoy.
MoMA Exhibition History
The Museum of Modern Art has digitized their entire exhibition history archive, from their founding in 1929 to the present. Includes installation views, checklists, press releases and complete exhibition catalogs.
The Frick Collection Photoarchive
The Photoarchive is a study collection of more than one million photographic reproductions of works of art by fourth to mid-twentieth century artists trained in the Western tradition. Each photograph is accompanied by historical documentation that traces the essential elements of the biography of a work of art — changes of attribution, ownership, and condition.
The Getty Center, Getty Villa, and Getty Library put together this starter kit of online resources. Includes art books, online exhibitions, podcasts, and videos to help you keep your artistic spirits up.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. The Timeline extends from prehistory to the present day.
Art + Design Online
Art + Design Online
digital collections + websites of art, architecture + design images, books, films, photography + more