GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: WMST 4011: Understanding Research in Women's Studies: Statistics

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Statistics Databases

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.
A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more. The Global Consumer Survey includes data sets for different countries, topics, and target groups.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Search for statistical reports and tables from U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations (i.e., UN)
Coverage ranges across many topics including demographics, income, production, trade, interest rates, economic indicators, energy, environmental protection, agriculture and fisheries, crime, medicine, and education.

U.S. Statistics

Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Search portal for the most recent US Census Surveys, including the American Community Survey and the Decennial Census.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Users must create and log in with a personal account.
Social Explorer is a premier U.S. demographics website. Its online tools help users visually analyze and understand thedemography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. The primary product is a web-based application that creates fast, intuitive, and visually appealing maps and reports. Its software gives anyone with an Internet connection access to census data that was previously the domain of social science experts. Users must create and log in with a personal account.

Social Surveys and Polling

iPoll This link opens in a new window
U.S. opinion polls on major issues, politics, and society
iPoll is a database of public opinion polls from the Roper Center archive taken in the United States on a variety of subjects. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Records are indexed by topic, publication date, and sponsor. Other information provided includes: source name, sample size, and notes on the sample population. From the results list users can also retrieve the complete list of questions asked in a specific poll.

Pew Research
Pew Research is a "nonpartisan fact tank" that conducts "public opinion polling, demographic research, [and] content analysis."

Consumer and Audience Insights

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
In-depth market research reports and brief "insights" on U.S. and European consumer groups and products.
Mintel Reports provides in-depth market research reports on a wide range of U.S. and European consumer products, including food/drink, clothing, beauty, electronics, automobiles, etc. Reports are typically 100 pages long and cover consumer demographics, market size, market shares, trends/forecasts, segmentation, and distribution channels, among other topics. About 120 reports are added annually.

Child Welfare

KIDS COUNT Data Center
Find comprehensive data on U.S. child and family well-being indicators. You can refine your results by state, county, city, school district, and more.
America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being
Read the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics' annual report featuring statistics on children and families in the United States about their family and social environments, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.

WMST 4011: Understanding Research in Women's Studies