GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: WMST 4011: Understanding Research in Women's Studies: Find Sources

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Gender and Sexuality

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and popular journals and other publications on gender in cultural, social, and historical context.
Gender Watch focuses on the impact of gender on women's lives. It provides coverage on the family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and workplace issues, sexual harassment, aging, body image, eating disorders, and social and societal roles. It also includes resources on the impact of gender on the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, scholarship, health care and medicine, politics, religion, sex roles, sexuality, and sports.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly and some popular press articles, book chapters and more on women's studies, feminist scholarship, and sexuality.
Women's Studies International includes bibliographic records drawn from women's studies databases including: Women Studies Abstracts; Women's Studies Database; New Books on Women & Feminism; WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies; Women, Race, & Ethnicity: A Bibliography; The History of Women and Science, Health, and Technology: A Bibliographic Guide to the Professions and the Disciplines; POPLINE Subset on Women; Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research; Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.
The database is produced with data licensed from: Rush Publishing, Inc.; Guillaume Data Services, Inc.; University of Wisconsin, Madison; Judith P. Zimmerman; University of Memphis, the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), and the World Health Organization.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes popular and scholarly literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues.
LGBTQ+ Source provides comprehensive coverage of academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications. This database contains indexing and abstracts for LGBTQ core periodicals and more than 330 LGBTQ core books and reference works, as well as the full text of 120 journals and 140 books.

Race and Ethnicity

Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to articles on race and ethnicity.
Race Relations Abstracts indexes academic journals and magazines on topics related to race and ethnicity, including immigration, civil rights, cultural identity, and discrimination.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch provides a full-text collection of newspaper, magazine and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press. A broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints is provided through an extensive collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, and news reports.

News

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international news coverage.
Access World News provides access to electronic editions of thousands of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as international sources. In addition to newspaper content, sources such as blogs, broadcast transcripts, and video clips are also included. Company and industry information, politics, sports, cultural activities, and people in the community are among the subjects covered. Paid ads are excluded.
Beta trial database.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch provides a full-text collection of newspaper, magazine and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press. A broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints is provided through an extensive collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, and news reports.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

History

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America: History & Life is the definitive bibliographic citation tool for the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes indexing for 1700 English language historical journals, including selected local history journals. Full-text coverage is provided for nearly 200 journals and over 90 books. The database also includes citations to dissertations and book reviews in American and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
History of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. In addition, full-text coverage is provided for more than 300 journals and over 130 books. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years. No other history research tool matches its scholarly standards or comprehensive coverage.