Note: these databases are not indexed in the Multisearch!
Europa World: Contains detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide.
Covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
CRS Reports: factual reports from the Congressional Research Service, a non-partisan research group for Congress.
Statista: A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.
IMF eLibrary: Contains documents published by the International Monetary Fund on all countries.
OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) : Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.
UN iLibrary: Searchable database of UN reports organized by country and theme.
UN Statistical Yearbook : Easy to navigate Yearbook of country statistics.
For more specific statistics (like education, finance), you can search the UNdata website. It includes links to the online statistical abstracts of most nations.
Factiva: Their News Pages offers a list of the current headlines from the most popular newspapers. It is the easiest way to browse multiple newspapers at once without hitting a payall.
Duck Duck Go: Google weights the news articles it shows you based on your previous search history and which websites you visit the most. This can lead to bias in the types of news sources you read. Duck Duck Go is a Google-like search engine that anonymizes you so that you get unweighted results when you search.
The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 1/3 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.
1) Beware of the fire hydrant effect! If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this. Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need. If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database.
3) It is easy to get mixed up on what is academic research and what is not. Make sure you check the "Scholarly Peer Reviewed" box.
We also have databases which only cover Political Science and International Affairs. The best of these are:
If you've never written an executive summary before, the University of Southern California has a great site which highlights the key components of a good executive summary.