Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTL 4770: Politics of Current Events (White): Home

Current Events

Executive Summaries

If you've never written an executive summary before, the University of Southern California has a great site which highlights the key components of a good executive summary.

Another great resource which explains executive summaries.

Presentation Practice Room

The MLC has a room specifically for students to practice their presentations.  You can record yourself in this room and using the recording to improve your presentation skills.  To access the room you have to request it at the Security Desk on the 2nd floor.

Newspapers and Other News Sources

Factiva:  Their News Pages offers a list of the current headlines from the most popular newspapers.  It is the easiest way to browse multiple newspapers at once without hitting a payall.

Duck Duck Go:  Google weights the news articles it shows you based on your previous search history and which websites you visit the most.  This can lead to bias in the types of news sources you read.  Duck Duck Go is a Google-like search engine that anonymizes you so that you get unweighted results when you search.

Multi-disciplinary databases

The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 130 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.  

ProQuest Central is a resource which allows you to search 30 databases which are not indexed in the Multi-Search.

This means you can search broadly for your topic amongst databases which contain newspapers, magazines, and scholarly articles and books.  

Things to remember:

1) The Multi Search doesn't search everything the Libraries has access to electronically.  We have over 500 databases and this resource searches only a quarter of them.  There are several excellent databases that aren't in the Multi Search!  

ProQuest Central allows you to search a portion of the databases NOT in the Multi-Search (30 in total).  If you aren't finding what you want in the Multi-Search, try ProQuest Central.

2) Beware of the fire hydrant effect!  If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this.  Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need.  If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database listed below.

Your UGA Librarian

Elizabeth White's picture
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website