Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PADP 6960: Annotated Bibliography: Research Sources

Public Management

Scholarly Research

For your annotated bibliography you'll need to find scholarly research.

Political Science Complete contains scholarly literature in political science public administration.

ProQuest Political Science covers the scholarly literature of political science and public administration.

Finding Government Resources

GovInfo:  Documents published by the Government Printing Office

USA Info:  A directory to all U.S. federal government agencies, providing statistics, full-text documents, and legislative material.

 

CRS Reports are documents written by the Congressional Research Service on a variety of policy topics.  The Congressional Research Service (CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Members of Congress. Some Members, as well as several non-profit groups, have posted the reports on their web sites.  Different archival sources of CRS reports have popped up on the internet.

ProQuest Congressional indexes CRS reports, and several databases archive available documents.  Once you locate the title of a report, often a simple Google search will locate the full text.  

CRS Report Archives (free on the web):

Library of Congress:  archive of all new CRS reports.  

UNT CRS Report Archive:  digital CRS archive from the University of North Texas.

GAO Reports

The GAO is an independent organization within the US government.  GAO provides Congress, the heads of executive agencies, and the public with fact-based information about government spending in the form of reports and testimonies.  To access GAO information, you can search their database.

You can also browse key issues, and reports/testimonies by date and by agency.

 

Green Book

The Green Book is published by the House of Representatives Ways and Means Committee.  It presents background material and statistical data on the major entitlement programs and other activities within the Committee's jurisdiction.  Examples include Social Security, Medicaid, Medicare, and TANF.

Federal Legislation

Legislative Insight (ProQuest):  ProQuest Legislative Insight is a Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.

Information is organized based on specific public laws and bills, so it is most useful when used to find all the documents related to one bill or public law.

ProQuest Congressional:  Coverage of U.S. Congress; hearings, prints, reports, bills, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulation. 

Information is organized by source and subject, so it is most useful when used to find hearings, reports, and executive orders on a particular subject.

Click on the "Advanced Search" to search for specific types of documents.  To help put together a good search, use the "Find Terms" link to find the subject headings for all the documents.

Federal Regulations

ProQuest Regulatory Insight contains U.S. federal administrative law histories for the period 1936-2015 organized by federal statute and Executive Order.  Contains compilations of Federal Register notices, proposed rules, and rules representing the complete rulemaking process.

Use the Advanced Search to target the types of documents.

 

You can search for only EEOC documents using the "Find Terms" link.

 

GIL Express and InterLibrary Loan

GIL EXPRESS

You can borrow book from all 32 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.  

First, search the GIL Catalog and find the book you want.  Make sure you choose University System of Georgia from the dropdown menu.  Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.

Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on My Account at the top of the page to log in with your MyID and password.

After you log in, you will be able to click on the Request link.  The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system.  This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.

ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy.  They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.

Non Profits

Here are some resources which can help you research Non Profit Organizations.

GuideStar:  data and profiles about non profits.

IssueLab:  reports by non profit organizations.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website