Skip to main content

PADP 6960: Writing and Citing

Writing Center

The UGA Writing Center is available to you to help with the writing process.  Bring in your draft to them, and they will give you helpful suggestions to make it better!

Park Hall

Monday - Wednesday:  8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday:  8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday:  10:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Room 66

Miller Learning Center

Daytime Drop-in Tutoring (no appointment necessary) 

Mon–Thurs from 1:30–4:30 pm
MLC Room 302

Evening Tutoring (by appointment)

Mon. 4 - 8:30 p.m.
Wed. 4 - 8 p.m.

Science Library

Monday:  9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Tuesday:  8:30 AM - 11:30 am

Wednesday:  8:00 AM - NOON and 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Thursday:  9:00 AM - 11:00 AM and 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Friday:  10:30 AM - 1:30 PM

Room 201

Government Publications - APA citations

Citing government documents and resources in APA can be complicated, so here are some basic rules to consider:

  • APA Citation Style does not have a separate category for government publications.  According to APA, government documents can be considered Books, Technical/Research Reports or Brochures.

  • Identify the publisher as part of the retrieval statement unless the publisher has been identified as the author: Retrieved from Agency name website: http://www.xxxxxxx
  • Some publisher homepages—such as those of government agencies or nongovernmental organizations—can be difficult to search, so citing the full URL for a document that takes the reader directly to the document may save time.

Format:

Government Department [listed from largest to smallest unit] (Year published). Document title (pub no). Retrieved from http://www.url.com

Example:

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. (2003). Managing asthma: A guide for schools (NIH Publication No. 02-2650). Retrieved from http://www.nhlbi .nih.gov/health/prof/lung/asthma/asth_sch.pdf

Citation Management at UGA

Endnote and Refworks are the two citation managers we provide at UGA. They can be used to input citations into your Word documents and also to format your works cited page for your research papers all at the same time. The best part is they do this automatically for almost any citation style you could need!

Endnote is installed on one computer, and is downloaded directly to your computer.  All of your research citations and affiliated filmes would be saved to that computer.  If you like to keep all your research (including all pdfs, slideshows, etc) in one place (a laptop for example), then Endnote would be a good option.  Because it is a downloaded software, however, it does have a steeper learning curve for first time users.

RefWorks is a web-based service which allows you to access all of your research from any device with access to the internet (mobile devices, computers, etc.).  If you like the flexibility of the cloud and the ability to share your research with anyone, then RefWorks would be a good option.  As it is a cloud based solution, RefWorks is slightly easier to learn.  If you feel Endnote is too complex for you, RefWorks might be a better option.

If you want to learn more about either CMS, please take a look at our Citation Management Guide!

I am available to train you in either, so feel free to email or call me to set up a training session.  Both softwares are incredibly powerful, and are indispensible research tools.  I highly recommend integrating a citation management software into your research process.

Citation Guides

If you just want information on how a certain style is organized, the UGA Libraries keep Citation Style Guide web pages with examples of how to cite the most common types of resources using the most common styles (APA, Chicago, MLA, and more!)

APA Style

MLA Style

Chicago Style‚Äč

For more information about APA style and formatting, Purdue has a helpful website.

APA Citation Breakdown

 

If you're using the Chicago Manual of Style (Author-Date) or Footnotes, you can access the entire manual online through GALILEO:  http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=mlal-uga1&inst=uga1

If you want a brief overview of Chicago, we have citation style pages which the Libraries' have made for quick questions about a style:

http://www.libs.uga.edu/ref/chicagostyle.pdf

Annotated Bibliography

OWL @ Purdue has a great site about how to write an Annotated Bibliography

bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "References" or "Works Cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliographyincludes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following.

Elements of a good Annotated Bibliography:

1) Bibliography according to the appropriate citation style (MLA, APA, CBE/CSE, etc.).
2) Explanation of main points and/or purpose of the work—basically, its thesis—which shows among other things that you have read and thoroughly understand the source.
3) Verification or critique of the authority or qualifications of the author.
4) Comments on the worth, effectiveness, and usefulness of the work in terms of both the topic being researched and/or your own research project.
Source: UNC Writing Center - Annotated Bibliography

Sample Annotated Bibliography - marked up

Your Librarian

Elizabeth White's picture
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website