Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MBA Case Competition: Additional resources

Library information resources useful in preparing Terry MBA students for regional and national case competitions.

Additional resources

Academic Search Complete (in GALILEO)

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

Ad$pender

Ad$pender is a database of advertising expenditures by media type for many product and industry categories down to the individual product level.  Create reports containing available data that match the filters you specify.    See Ad$pender user guide.

Use of Ad$pender is limited to academic research by UGA students and faculty.  Access is shared with selected classes and is also available to individual faculty and students upon request. Note: Ad$pender is limited to a maximum of 5 simultaneous users.

Bureau Van Dijk Zephyr (in GALILEO)

BVD's Zephyr database covers mergers and acquistions (M&A) deals from around the world. Includes information on IPOs, private equity, venture capital deals, and rumors. Offers ability to track progress of deals, integrates financials, provides up to ten years of history and even longer history for deals with a European counterpart.

Census data:   Social Explorer  (in GALILEO) provides an easier to use map tool for viewing Census demographic data down to the block level depending on which dataset you are using.  Also covers historical census data.  Data.census.gov is the official Census Bureau site and contains more than just demographic data as well as a tool for viewing data in a map format for all types of geographies, from national down to census blocks. Data are available for the Population Census and the Economic Census. Only covers a couple decades of data.

Chilton Library (in GALILEO)

ChiltonLibrary provides domestic and import automotive vehicle information through the current model year, updated continuously, as well as step-by-step service and repair procedures, wiring diagrams, maintenance and specification tables, troubleshooting guides and diagnostic trouble codes, supplemented by photos, illustrations, diagrams and videos.

Computer Database (Gale) (in GALILEO)

Computer Database provides access to business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.

Derwent Innovation Index (in GALILEO)

Derwent Innovations Index (DII) combines the Derwent World Patents Index with the Patent Citation Index. DII allows for precise searching of over 14 million patents from 40 issuing agencies worldwide by topic, title, patent numbers, classification codes, inventor, assignee and compound. Most entries have links to abstracts and PDFs of the original patent applications with full text and images. For each patent, DII provides links to patents cited by the inventor and examiner as well as later patents that cite it. Using the Cited Patent Search option, researchers can search directly for patents that cite another patent. As part of the Web of Knowledge platform, DII also links to related journals, conference proceedings, and books that cite the patent.

Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society (2nd ed., 2017)

embraces commerce in all its ethical and social dimensions. This resource offers comprehensive and fairly lengthy essays on such crucial topics as justice, freedom, stakeholder theory, and regulation. It also provides very brief essays that introduce important personages in the field, while other similarly brief entries explain the nature and function of various organizations. The resource is composed of almost 900 entries. The entries range in length from about 500 words to almost 11,000 words.

Family and Society Studies Worldwide  (in GALILEO)

Index to articles on family science, human ecology, and human development.

Family Studies Abstracts  (in GALILEO)

Index to family studies literature.

IHS Markit Connect  (in GALILEO)

Vast archive of international economic statistics containing thousands of time series. The database is especially rich in economic data, covering the U.S. and many foreign countries; IMF monetary data; and market indices data. Frequency of data varies by times series: daily, monthly, quarterly, annual. Years of coverage vary by time series, extending back to the early 1900's in some cases. Usage tip: Open the 'Data Browser' in upper left of home screen. This will enable you to set up filters to retrieve useful time series which can then be downloaded. 

PolicyMap (in GALILEO)

Data and mapping application that provides access to continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more. PolicyMap has more than 37,000 continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more. Their GIS data is available for geographies across the U.S. often at neighborhood scale geographies such as Census tracts and block groups.

Data Axle (in GALILEO)

Basic company information for U.S. similar to Dun and Bradstreet Million Dollar Database and Hoovers including the smallest local companies.  Amount of data varies.

S & P Capital IQ (formerly S & P Market Intelligence; SNL).   Provides extensive data and news for companies in the U.S. finance and real estate industries.  The amount of information available for private companies will be less than for public companies.  Requires an individual login   UGA students are eligible to register for a login.  Contact John Prechtel for more information. 

USA.gov Data and Statistics (replaced FedStats)

A gateway to Federal statistical agencies. 

Business School resources: 

 WRDS platform (requires individual login):

  • Compustat—annual report database
  • CRSP—stock price database
  • EVENTUS—software to conduct event studies
  • Capital IQ—company board and membership information