GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: SOWK 7290: Poverty and Social Work Practice: Statistics

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Poverty Statistics

U.S. Census Bureau: Poverty
Find Census publications, data, and news releases about poverty.
U.S. Department of Agriculture Economic Research Service
The USDA ERS conducts statistical research on food and nutrition, food assistance, farming, the rural economy, and more.
Poverty Estimates, Trends, and Analysis
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation provides Provides statitical estimates, trends, and analysis of poverty.

International Statistics & Reports

EUROPA World - Detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide. Coverage Dates: 2006-present
OECD iLibrary - Provides access to the full text of publications from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, a group of major developed countries. Covers all OECD books and periodicals published 1998-present. Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.

U.S. Statistics

ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Search for statistical reports and tables from U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations (i.e., UN)
Coverage ranges across many topics including demographics, income, production, trade, interest rates, economic indicators, energy, environmental protection, agriculture and fisheries, crime, medicine, and education.
Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Search portal for the most recent US Census Surveys, including the American Community Survey and the Decennial Census.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Users must create and log in with a personal account.
Social Explorer is a premier U.S. demographics website. Its online tools help users visually analyze and understand thedemography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. The primary product is a web-based application that creates fast, intuitive, and visually appealing maps and reports. Its software gives anyone with an Internet connection access to census data that was previously the domain of social science experts. Users must create and log in with a personal account.

Policy Map
Map statistics of demographics, socio-economics, health statistics, jobs and employment, education, etc.

Georgia Statistics

Georgia Data
Find Georgia county-by-county statistics put together by the Carl Vinson Institute of Government.

Georgia County Guide
Call Number: Main Reference/Science Reference F284 .G34
Contains county and state-level data on agriculture, crime, economics, education, government, health, housing, labor, natural resources, occupations, population, public assistance, transportation, and vital statistics.

Online Analytical Statistical Information System (OASIS)
Use OASIS to access the Georgia Department of Public Health's health data repository.