GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: SOWK 7290: Poverty and Social Work Practice: Find Sources

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Scholarly Sources

UGA Multi-Search
Search 130+ databases (including Social Work Abstracts, SocIndex, and PsycInfo) and the library catalog at the same time. Note: This database includes both popular (like magazine and news articles) and scholarly resources. This database does not include Social Services Abstracts.

Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
On research in social work, human services, and related areas.
Social Services Abstracts provides references and abstracts of research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, gerontology, and community development.
Included in the database is the searchable Thesaurus of Sociological Indexing Terms.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Find articles related to social work theory and practice, social services, and social problems.
Social Work Abstracts, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, this contains references dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.
Social Science Citation Index (at Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index is a subset of Web of Science within Web of Knowledge. Web of Science also includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. These databases may be searched separately, in any combination, or all at once.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to articles in sociology.
SocINDEX with Full Text features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.

News

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international news coverage.
Access World News provides access to electronic editions of thousands of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as international sources. In addition to newspaper content, sources such as blogs, broadcast transcripts, and video clips are also included. Company and industry information, politics, sports, cultural activities, and people in the community are among the subjects covered. Paid ads are excluded.
Beta trial database.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

SOWK 7290: Poverty and Social Work Practice

Your Librarians

Chat with Library Staff

Scholarly Sources

Individual Journals

News