Direct URLs / proxy: When sending a patron a direct link to an online article or other e-resource, be sure it is accessible off-campus. Some databases will add the proxy automatically. For others, you will need to add it. Use the Direct URLs guide or add this string at the front of the URL: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/uga.edu?url=
GALILEO databases have an express link that includes the proxy. These begin with galileo.usg.edu/express?link=
The VPN can sometimes interfere with off-campus access. If a patron says they are on a VPN, ask them to disconnect and use regular internet access to our resources.
Outlook may flag messages with attached articles saying they include SSNs when they do not. Journal articles may include number strings that resemble SSNs. Contact EITS for a bypass code.
Most outside users and alums cannot access our databases remotely with the exception of open access databases such as PubMed and the Digital Library of Georgia databases (e.g., The Red & Black archive; other Historic Georgia newspaper databases). Non-affiliates can use our e-resources on campus using the UGA Visitors wifi or a library guest computer. Georgia residents can access many databases through their public library's GALILEO. The outside borrowers' program covers checking out of print books and does not include off-campus access to subscription e-resources.
Exceptions include OLLI (Osher Lifelong Learning Institute) members, researchers in selected local federal labs like EPA and USDA, and pharmacy preceptors. Access Services creates an OpenAthens account for these users. An OpenAthens account is not the same as a MyID.
Several databases are restricted to UGA affiliates with a MyID by vendor agreements. These include SciFinder Scholar and any HathiTrust features behind the login (saving to shelf, etc.). HathiTrust temporary problem: Emeritus faculty should have full access to Hathi, but the system is treating them as regular retirees. Systems has a workaround; please report other any other emeriti to Kristin.
When a patron says they cannot log in, ask whether they are trying to access their library account or our online resources. Patrons with an outside borrower's card are given credentials to their GIL Find library account. Sometimes, they confuse the two logins and try to use those credentials in the MyID login (they will not work). Similarly, credentials for an OpenAthens login will not work in UGA's single sign on.
UGA users at another GALILEO library will be automatically treated by EBSCO as if they are patrons of that library, e.g., one of our students using wifi at a public library; a K-12 teacher who is also a UGA graduate student using a computer at their school, etc. Even if they go through our homepage, Ebsco will re-reroute them to that library's Ebsco Discovery Service. The workaround: have them go to the statewide GALILEO galileo.usg.edu, log out at the top right, and log in with their UGA credentials.
Retirees: Retired faculty and staff keep the same borrowing and online access privileges that they had when employed. If they do not use their MyID for a year, their account will be deleted. Refer those retirees without a MyID to Access Services to get an OpenAthens account. Questions about deleted MyID accounts should be referred to EITS.
Note that library accounts are separate from online library access for UGA students, faculty, and staff. Anyone with a current MyID has access to our online resources. A block on a library account due to overdue books or fines does not affect access to online resources.
