Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 3010 Immigration in the U. S. (Hahamovitch special collections): Secondary Sources

Tips and Tricks

Doing some secondary source research before you begin looking at primary sources will help the primary sources make more sense. 

  • Check out books as well as online articles.
  • Keep a list of key players involved in events related to to your topic.
  • Keep a list of key events and dates.
  • Make note of nicknames, slang terms, alternative forms of  names related to your topic.
  • Put this list on a laptop, phone or other device so you can have ready access to it.  

Online--Secondary Sources Available via the Internet

GALILEO : collection of over 400 research databases, including:

  • America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes the Georgia Historical Quarterly 1955-present and seven other Georgia historical journals (dates vary).
  • Historical Abstracts  Index and abstracts to articles on world history 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).

  • JSTOR core journals in many fields from their first issue (dating to the 1700s in some cases) to 3-5 years ago
  • HistoryCooperative
  • The New Georgia Encyclopedia provides access to authoritative information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. The site includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and includes links to related Internet sites.
  • ProjectMuse a full-text journal database for over 100 journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

Galileo Login information

In Print--Secondary Sources in the Main Library at UGA

Although the temptation is to stick to articles available online, there are many books in print that may be essential for understanding your topic. 

 GlL  Search and browse for print publications and some e-publications held by UGA Libraries 

 Gil Express  If a book isn't available  from UGA, you can usually  request it using GIL Express and it will arrive on campus for you to pick up in just a few days 

Subject Guide

Jill Severn's picture
Jill Severn
Contact:
Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries
300 South Hull St.
706-542-5766
Website