Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 3010 Immigration in the U. S. (Hahamovitch special collections): Primary Sources Russell Library and Hargrett Library

Searching for Primary Sources in the Russell Library

The Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies maintains a large online database of all the collection finding aids (guides) that outline what is in each collection down to the level of folder titles.  

Search for "immigration"
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "immigration" into the search engine and browse the results.
See the results for this search here: 
http://russelldoc.galib.uga.edu/russell/search?text=immigration

Search for "migrant"
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "migrant" into the search engine and browse the results. 

See the results for this search here: 
http://russelldoc.galib.uga.edu/russell/search?text=migrants

Search for "undocumented" 
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "undocumented" into the search engine and browse the results. 
See the results for this search here: 
http://russelldoc.galib.uga.edu/russell/search?text=undocumented

Search for "illegal alien" 
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "migrant" into the search engine and browse the results. 
See the results for this search here: 
http://russelldoc.galib.uga.edu/russell/search?text=illegal+alien

Search for [insert country or origin (for example,"Mexican")]
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "Mexican" into the search engine and browse the results. 
See the results for this search here: 
http://russelldoc.galib.uga.edu/russell/search?text=
mexican

Search for "refugee"  
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "refugee" into the search engine and browse the results. 
See the results for this search here: 
http://russelldoc.galib.uga.edu/russell/search?text=refugee

Search for "deportation" 
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "refugee" into the search engine and browse the results. 
See the results for this search here: 
http://russelldoc.galib.uga.edu/russell/search?text=deportation

Search for "asylum" 
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "refugee" into the search engine and browse the results. 
See the results for this search here: 
http://russelldoc.galib.uga.edu/russell/search?text=asylum

Search for "boat people"
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "boat people" into the search engine and browse the results.
See the results for this search here: 
http://russelldoc.galib.uga.edu/russell/search?text=boat+people

Searching for Primary Sources in the Hargrett Library

The Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library  maintains a large online database of all the collection finding aids (guides) that outline what is in each collection down to the level of folder titles.  

Search for "immigration"
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "immigration" into the search engine and browse the results.
See the results for this search here: 
http://hmfa.libs.uga.edu/hmfa/search?keyword=immigration​ 

Search for "migrant"
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "migrant" into the search engine and browse the results. 
See the results for this search here: 
http://hmfa.libs.uga.edu/hmfa/search?keyword=migrants

Search for "emigrants" 
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "migrant" into the search engine and browse the results. 
See the results for this search here: 

http://hmfa.libs.uga.edu/hmfa/search?keyword=emigrants

Search for "illegal alien" 
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "migrant" into the search engine and browse the results. 
See the results for this search here: 
http://hmfa.libs.uga.edu/hmfa/search?keyword=illegal+alien

Search for "importation"
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "Mexican" into the search engine and browse the results. 
See the results for this search here: 
http://hmfa.libs.uga.edu/hmfa/search?keyword=importation

Search for "refugee"  
To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing an archival database, enter "refugee" into the search engine and browse the results. 
See the results for this search here: 
http://hmfa.libs.uga.edu/hmfa/search?keyword=refugee