Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism Low Residency Graduate Program Archival Research Resources: Tips, Tricks, Tools, How-tos

Help--Researching and Requesting UGA special collections materials

Options for  assistance with searching and browsing the collections located in special collections

  • Visit the special collections reference desk located on the 3rd floor of the Special Collections Building.
    • Hours are 8-5 Monday-Friday and 1-5 p.m. on Saturday*
      • *except home football game Saturdays when the special collections building is closed 
  • Make a research conference appointment with an archivist 
    • general assistance with searching and browsing:
      • Jill Severn, jsevern@uga.edu 
      • Mazie Bowen, mbowen@uga.edu
  • assistance with research with Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and studies holdings:
    • Jill Severn, jsevern@uga.edu
  • assistance with research with Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library holdings:
    • Chuck Barber, chuck13@uga.edu
    • Mazie Bowen, mbowen@uga.edu
  • assistance with research with the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection holdings:
    • Mary Miller, mlmiller@uga.edu

Archives, Archives, Everywhere! Search Tools for Locating Primary Sources

ArchiveGrid is a search engines that helps users find information about historical materials in over 1,000a rchives, libraries, museums and historical societies around the United States.  if you are looking for primary sources  related to your project topic, this a great place to start your search.  (Remember, this site will provide information about the sources and where they are located, but may does not provide direct access to digitized versions of the materials)

Search ArchiveGrid
Find archival collections and primary source materials
.

Glossary of Terms

Archives lingo made easy...

finding aid

special collections 

archives

inventory 

series

record

artifact

linear foot / feet

primary source

secondary source 

Puzzled by other words? Visit the Society of American Archivists Glossary of Terms site 

Tips and Tricks-Keyword Searching

The Archivists' Quest 

Before archives integrated the full magic of the internet, patrons had to browse paper (gasp!) inventories of collections to find relevant materials. They had to read the information at the beginning of a collection finding aid to know which boxes to browse if they wanted to save time, or if they had lots of time on their hands, they could review the entire finding aid until they found something that seemed relevant. This was time-consuming and frustrating to patrons who were looking for something specific in a big collection.

Once archivists moved finding aids online, and better yet,  loaded these finding aids into searchable databases, people could enter keywords and get a quick list of results with the hits for the term highlighted.  There was broad rejoicing among patrons--searching in archives was now fast and simple. Archivists liked the fast simple searching too, but they also noticed that quick keyword browsing often stopped people from discovering related materials described by different terms.

There was much wailing and gnashing of teeth and handing-wringing among these archivists, but eventually, they came to their senses and realized that they could mount a campaign among patrons to reinvigorate the value of browsing and to hone keyword searching skills. No longer would patrons give up when their first keyword search failed to yield good results! Instead, they would brainstorm other ideas for terms to try.  In their free time, patrons would browse finding aids instead of texting and browsing Facebook.  

Make their dream a reality! 

Keyword Search Tips and Tricks

Brainstorm terms related to  your topic

  • Try different versions of the same word (example: Cuba, Cuban)
  • Try terms that are specific and general (example: Athens, Georgia, the South)
  • Explore the variety of descriptive terms that different groups used to describe the same people, events, places, and ideas (example: Civil War vs. War between the States, activists vs. agitators, protesters vs. rabble) 
  • Explore the evolution of meaning of terms over time.  Words that mean something to us today may have different meanings earlier in time or at specific moments in time.  ("busing" in the early 1970s is about implementation of desegregation orders in the early 1970s in the American South, whereas today, "busing" might be about environmental issues related to transportation)
  • Think like a file clerk. sometimes collections are organized by subjects, but often they are organized around dates, alphabetical listings of names, or by the group or individual that produced the records. If you don't find any files called "Cuban Missile Crisis" in a search of a politician's papers from the early 1960s, there is a good chance that there are relevant materials in  a folder called "1962." (The more you know; the MORE YOU KNOW!)

Never Admit Defeat!

  • If you try all of the tricks described above and still don't find what you are looking for, consider browsing the finding aids for materials donated by  people who are likely to be involved  in your topic.  Remember, every finding aid has a biography abotu the person or group that created or collected the materials.  
  • Never be aftaid to ask an archivist for help; that's why we're here. We work for you! 

Tips & Tricks--Reading Cursive Handwriting

Palaeography: reading old handwriting
1500 - 1800
A practical online tutorial

Palaeography is the study of old handwriting. This web tutorial will help you learn to read the handwriting found in documents written in English between 1500 and 1800.

At first glance, many documents written at this time look illegible to the modern reader. By reading the practical tips and working through the documents in the Tutorial in order of difficulty, you will find that it becomes much easier to read old handwriting. You can find more documents on which to practise your skills in the further practice section.

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/palaeography