HIST 4990 Senior Seminar (Clark, special collections): Secondary Sources

Doing some secondary source research before you begin looking at primary sources will help the primary sources make more sense. 

Check out books as well as online articles.

Keep a list of key players involved in events related to to your topic.

Keep a list of key events and dates.

Make note of nicknames, slang terms, alternative forms of  names related to your topic.

Put this list on a laptop, phone or other device so you can have ready access to it.  

These links will take you to resources about War and Society as well as military history sites. Many of the Web resources contain both primary and secondary sources.

• Military History Web Sites 
  • A selection of Web resources with primary and secondary content focused on military history 
• Europeana  
  • A portal for browsing and searching European primary sources available in digital format (great for topics based in Europe)
• Digital Public Library America 
  • A portal for browsing and searching U.S.  primary sources available in digital format (great for topics based in the United States) 
• ​New Georgia Encyclopedia 
  • ​Articles about military base installations in Georgia 
  • Articles about military industries in Georgia 

GALILEO : collection of over 400 research databases, including:

• America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes the Georgia Historical Quarterly 1955-present and seven other Georgia historical journals (dates vary).

• Historical Abstracts  Index and abstracts to articles on world history 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).

• JSTOR : core journals in many fields from their first issue (dating to the 1700s in some cases) to 3-5 years ago

Galileo Login information