Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4990 Senior Seminar (Clark, special collections): Topic Leads in UGA Special Collections

Resources for primary and secondary research for History 4990 War and Society, Spring 2016, Dr. Clark, instructor

Search engines for UGA Special Collections Libraries

Russell Library Search

Hargrett Library Search

Brown Media Archives  Search 

Russell Library Topic Leads

  • World War II
    • Double "V" Campaign
      • For information about segregation and desegregation of the Armed Services see Senator Richard Russell Collection
        • Series III Speech 
        • Series X Civil Rights 
    • Women's experiences of WW II as recorded in letters, diaries, and other personal writing
  • Community studies of places in Georgia  where military production provides most of the jobs 
    • See county files and legislative files in congressional collections that represent the districts where military bases or production centers are situated.
    • See Senator Russell’s Military Installations Series as well as his Legislative Series (Appropriation and Armed Services) and his Official Series 
    • Relevant search term BRAC (Base Realignment and Closure)
  • The treatment of veterans and wounded veterans by society

Russell Library Oral History Interview with Pete Wheeler

A Conversation with Pete Wheeler is a discussion, with Dr. William Stueck and Dr. James Cobb, of Wheeler's long career as Georgia's Commissioner of Veterans Services. Wheeler discusses his early life, attending Emory at Oxford and the University of Georgia, and his work with the Office of Price Administration after getting out of the service after World War II. Wheeler discusses the importance of the Department of Veterans Services and explains the duties of the Commissioner of Veteran Affairs. He mentions a specific project he undertook to identify all the Veterans in the former state mental hospital, Central State Hospital, in Milledgeville and to provide the services these veterans are entitled to. Wheeler also discusses his work with veterans from other wars such as the Spanish-American War and the widows of soldiers who had fought in the American Civil War. He explains his wife's experience during World War II and the employment of the rest of his family during the war. Wheeler recalls the desegregation of the veteran's home in Milledgeville and the importance of the Veteran's Administration.

This video is from the Oral History Documentary Collection at the Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies, University of Georgia Libraries.

Hargrett Library Topic Leads

  • The Civil War
    • The impact of the Civil War on religious faith
    • The economic impact of the war and the way that Atlanta recovered economically from the war
      • The South since the war, as shown by fourteen weeks of travel and observation in Georgia and the Carolinas. (Ga Room F216 .A56 1866)
      • After the war: a southern tour.(Hargrett Rare: De Renne Collection DER 1866 R4)
      • Speech of the Hon. B. H. Hill on the condition of the country :delivered in the city of Atlanta, Tuesday July 16, 1867, and Letter of ex-Gov. Hers'l V. Johnson. (Ga Room F291 .H52)
  • World War I
    • ​The way that war changed the representation of women in popular culture
      • World War I Sheet Music (Special Collections Hargrett Rare Books (RBV)
      • Le Mot,  Special Collections Hargrett Rare Books (RBV)
      • Humpty-Dumpty William & Co.: a popular history of time's greatest war, Ga Room D526.2 .B335h
  • World War II

Russell Library oral history with Senator Max Cleland

ROGP 079. Max Cleland interviewed by Bob Short, May 5, 2009.

Joseph Maxwell Cleland first became interested in politics during his Washington Semester Program. In 1965, he was asked by Senator Richard B. Russell to become a congressional intern. Cleland then joined the U.S. Army and served in Vietnam. He was awarded the Bronze Star and the Silver Star for valorous conduct in battle. At the Battle of Khe Sanh in 1968, he was severely wounded by a grenade, resulting in the amputation of both legs and his right forearm. In 1971, he was elected as a Democrat to the Georgia Senate. In 1974, he ran an unsuccessful campaign for lieutenant governor. From 1977 to 1981, he served as administrator of the U.S. Veterans Administration under President Jimmy Carter. In 1982, he ran a successful campaign for Georgia Secretary of State, and served in that office for fourteen years. In 1996, Senator Sam Nunn retired, and Cleland won Nunn's seat. He lost his bid for reelection in 2002 to Saxby Chambliss. In 2009, he was appointed by President Obama to serve as secretary of the American Battle Monuments. Cleland discusses the Vietnam War, the role of Georgia's secretary of state, and the current state of the military, both at home and abroad.

Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection Topic Leads

Russell Library Oral history with Senator Saxby Chambliss

ROGP 019. Saxby Chambliss interviewed by Bob Short. April 16, 2007.

Clarence Saxby Chambliss was born in Warrenton, North Carolina on November 10, 1943. He attended Louisiana Tech University and the University of Georgia, earning a bachelor's degree in business administration in 1966. He received his law degree from the University of Tennessee College of Law in 1968. In this interview, Chambliss discusses his early years practicing law in south Georgia, as well as his experience serving in the U.S. House of Representatives and the Senate. In the House, Chambliss served on the Armed Services Committee, the Agriculture Committee, and served on the House Intelligence Committee leading up to 9/11. He addresses a wide range of policy issues, including the War on Terror, immigration, agriculture, environmental issues, the military, tax policy, and social security. He also comments on former Georgia Governor George Busbee