It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ABI/INFORM Complete includes all articles, working papers, and other content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry.
The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
The Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns looks at 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns of the 20th century from a historical perspective and several related initiatives of earlier years that developed the basis for present day advertising. Each article looks at the advertising campaign's or market initiative's historical context, target market, expected outcomes, competition, marketing strategy and development hurdles and the outcome of the campaign - what worked, what didn't and why.
Business-related articles from many peer-reviewed and other journals, reports, company profiles, and other sources.
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for the many important scholarly business journals as far back as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Find popular and scholarly articles on communication and mass media studies, including some full text.
Communication & Mass Media Complete is an index to literature relating to communication and mass media studies, including some full text. The database is the result of the merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies - CommSearch, formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), and Mass Media Articles Index, formerly produced by Penn State University. In addition to the content of these two databases, CMMC offers full text for over 160 major communication and mass media journals that were not previously covered by CommSearch or Mass Media Articles Index. In total, more than 285 journals will be indexed and abstracted in their entirety in CMMI, while approximately 100 more journals will be indexed selectively.
Why recommend a psychology database to advertising students? Because psychologists do a lot of research about advertising, its influence, its effectiveness, and so on. That's why.
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some articles are available in full text. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals from nearly 50 countries. The historic portion of the database comes from from three sources: Psychological Abstracts (1927-1966), Psychological Bulletin (1921-1926), and all journals published by the American Psychological Association plus the American Journal of Psychology from the first issue of volume 1, number 1 in November 1887.
Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 60,000 references are added annually.
Mediamark and Simmons are our two biggest databases for market research data. So, what's the difference between Simmons and Mediamark? Which one should you use? Do you have to use both? A quick comparison of the two:
Mediamark has more current data (~1.5 years) than Simmons (3 years)
Simmons has "psychographics"; Mediamark does not.
Mediamark has a new "trending" tool that allows you to easily track data across a three year span.
Mediamark represents its data in tables, already compiled according to predetermined comparisons. Simmons requires you to build the table. Con: You have to build the table. Pro: You can compare any variable you want to any variable you want.
Mediamark offers certain pre-set filters for data (gender, age, etc.) Simmons allows you to filter data using any variable in their database.
Both can export data to Excel or .csv (comma separated values) files.
Data on buying behavior and media habits of U.S. adult consumers. Restricted: Registration with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database.
Data on product buying behavior and media habits of a sample of U.S. adult consumers (approximately 27,000). The most recent sample is typically between 1 and 1.5 years old. MRI (GFK) requires users to register using a valid UGA email address and the current GFK registration code. For more information on registering go to http://www.libs.uga.edu/mri. 10 simultaneous users allowed
Consumer survey data on product buying behavior. Please note: This database is limited to 50 concurrent users.
Consumer survey data on product buying behavior and media habits of 33,000 adults, 18 years of age and over. Offers the capability to crosstab demographic characteristics with types or brands of products.
In-depth market research reports on U.S. and European consumer products.
Mintel Reports provides in-depth market research reports on a wide range of U.S. and European consumer products, including food/drink, clothing, beauty, electronics, automobiles, etc. Reports are typically 100 pages long and cover consumer demographics, market size, market shares, trends/forecasts, segmentation, and distribution channels, among other topics. About 120 reports are added annually.
Simmons Tutorial Video
This guide from the University of Alabama Bruno Library provides a good introduction to building crosstab tables.
This guide from Pace University Library explains how to interpret the results in a crosstab.