Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Artists' Books: Collections & Supporting Resources: Researching Artists' Books

This guide provides an overview of artists' book collections and supporting resources at the UGA Libraries.

Finding Books about Artists' Books

The Main Library houses collections in the fine arts, history of books, and bookmaking that include supporting materials on artists' books and book arts in general. Researchers looking for scholarship, criticism, exhibition catalogs, how-to guides, and catalogs of work produced by major presses can search the collection through the Libraries' online catalog, GIL-Find, or by browsing relevant call number areas in the stacks.    


History & Criticism
Artists' Books: A Critical Anthology and Sourcebook
Call Number: N7433.3 .A75 1985 (Main Library 7th Floor) 

Artists' Books: The Book As a Work of Art, 1963-1995
Call Number: N7433.3 .B87 1995 (Main Library 7th Floor) 

Artists Books: A Critical Survey of the Literature
Call Number: N7433.3 .K64 1998 (Main Library 7th Floor)

Catalogs of Artists' Books
Book Art Object

Call Number: Folio N7433.3 .C63 2007 (Main Library 7th Floor)

Artist / Author: Contemporary Artists' Books
Call Number: N7433.3 .L37 1998 (Main Library 7th Floor)

The Book as Art: Artists' Books from the National Museum of Women in the Arts
Call Number N7433.35 .U6 W37 2007 (Main Library 7th Floor)

Technical & How-To
Structure of the Visual Book

Call Number: Main Z116 .A3 S58 2003 (Main Library 2nd Floor) 
*To see a full list of Kevin Smith's excellent instructional books at UGA, click here)*

Book-art: Innovation in Book Design
Call Number: Main Z246 .R55 2007 (Main Library 2nd Floor)

The Penland Book of Handmade Books: Master Classes in Bookmaking Techniques
Call Number: Main Z271 .P45 2004 (Main Library 2nd Floor)

For similar works, brose titles under Library of Congress Subject Headings:

Finding Articles & Journals

Article Database

ArtSourceCombinines Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete, and covers over 630 full-text journals, plus full-text books and over 63,000 images from 1929 to the present. Art Source  indexes several major artists' book journals, including BonefolderJournal of Artists' Books, and Umbrella, and also includes art journals that occasionally feature articles on artists' books, such as Art on PaperPrintmaking TodayAfterimage, and others. Most of these journals are indexed in ArtSource so searching that database can be the best way to find articles from a broader range of sources.

Selected Journals

The Bonefolder
"The Bonefolder, an outgrowth of the Book Arts Web, is a peer-reviewed "open-access" e-journal for bookbinding and the book arts. Since fall of 2004, The Bonefolder has reached a global audience and contributed to the body of knowledge in the book arts both theoretically and practically."
(from the journal's web site)

Journal of Artists' Books
"The Journal of Artists' Books provides a platform for both theoretical and creative expression. As a forum for the study of artists' books, JAB publishes critical and theoretical articles, reviews of artists' books and exhibitions, and commentary on conferences and and other book art-related activities.JAB also regularly showcases creative work in the form of artists' statements and artist-designed pages and covers."
(from the JAB web site)

Umbrella (in print online)
Umbrella is another of the very few journals that deal specifically with book arts. It features interviews, essays, book reviews, and news about events and exhibits.

Selected Online Resources

Main Library Selections