Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Artists' Books: Collections & Supporting Resources: Finding Artists' Books in the GIL Catalog

This guide provides an overview of artists' book collections and supporting resources at the UGA Libraries.

Searching GIL: Tips & Tricks

 

 

 

 

Artists' books located in the Hargrett Library's Rare Book collection are cataloged in GIL, the UGA Libraries online catalog.  There are various ways to search the online catalog; this page provides tips & tricks to aid the researcher.  In addition to searching by a specific title or author / artist, try the following:

 

 

 

Search by Keyword: When an artist's book includes a colophon or artist's statement, this information is transcribed into the GIL record to describe  the book's production. Keyword searching can elicit details from these transcribed notes.  A colophon might include materials used, structural details, printing techniques and binding type. A keyword search will pull catalog records for all items that include these details.  Some examples of keyword searches:

  • "Rives BFK"  (type of paper)
  • "clamshell box" (type of container)
  • "woodcut print*" (printmaking technique)
  • concertina (binding method)

Use Subject Headings Library of Congress Subject Headings, linked within the GIL record and also searchable, can help you discover books and expand your search.  Examples of subject headings include:

  • Artists' Books
  • Miniature Books
  • Toy & Movable Books
  • Accordion Fold

Search by Press:  There are many types of presses represented in the Hargrett collection, and often our holdings include many different items from a single press.  Search by the name of a press to see representative works in our collection.  Some examples include:

  • Janus Press (Claire Van Vliet)
  • Circle Press  (Ron King)
  • Perishable Press  (Walter Hamady)
  • Flying Fish Press (Julie Chen)
  • Turkey Press (Harry Reese & Sandra Liddell Reese)
  • Granary Books 

More Search Tips:

  • Use quotes to search for phrases, for example: "relief print*"
  • Use an * for wildcard searches, for example: print* will return printmaking, printer, printmaker, etc. 
  • Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) must be ALL CAPS
  • Select Advanced Search from the GIL-Find homepage to automatically limit your search results to items in the Hargrett Rare Book collection.  Scroll down to the Location menu and select Hargrett Library as the location.

 

{Photo above is Tunnel Map by Carol J. Barton, Women's Studio Workshop, 1988} 

A Dream of Love by Joseph Langland; etchings by Barbara Neustad

A Dream of Love

  

Featured Press

Women's Studio Workshop

Women’s Studio Workshop (WSW), located in Rosendale, NY, was founded in 1974 by four women committed to developing an alternative space for artists to create new work and share skills.  An early proponent of the medium, WSW has produced over 190 limited edition artists’ books through their book arts grants and residency programs.  Learn more about WSW and view their complete collection through their website: http://www.wsworkshop.org/  

To see a full list of items from the Women's Studio Workshop viewable in the Hargrett Library, click here.

Photo above is What's Happening with Momma? by Clarissa T. Sligh, Women's Studio Workshop, 1988.