Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POLS 1105H (Dougherty): NSA

Getting Full Text

Getting the full text of articles in GALILEO:

If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:

  • Simply click on the link and you will have access to the article.

If it does NOT have those links:

  • Click on the FindIt@UGA button under the result;
  • If we have access to article in another database, a link either directly to the article or to the online version of the journal will be provided;
    • If it links to the journal, you will need to browse to your article by clicking on the correct volume, issue, and page number (this information is available in your original results list);

All GALILEO databases have the FindIt@UGA button to help you access the full text articles in the UGA Libraries.

CQ Researcher

Another great resource is CQ Researcher.  It has several well written reports about this topic:

Government Surveillance

Big Data and Privacy

Finding Articles

Question #1:  NSA

Using the Multisearch, you can search for "NSA or national security agency" and "metadata" and "constitution*"  Notice that I broke down the question into its different subjects, and didn't include any verbs or adjectives.  I also searched for the word "constitution*" with an asterisk at the end.  This is a searching trick in databases, and when you add it at the end of a root word, it will search for all variations of the word.

If you want to get back articles that actually talk about the legality of the metadata gathering, you can also under Sources choose Academic, Trade, and Report.  Often news/magazine stories will only give cursory information, whereas academic or professional publications will go into more depth about a subject.

Books

We have several books on the topic in the Main Library about this topic.  You can find them in the catalog, GIL-Find.

Your Librarian

Elizabeth White's picture
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website