Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
, Advertising & Public Relations
, Agricultural & Applied Econ
, Company Information
, Entertainment & Media Studies
, Journalism & Mass Communication
, Management Info Systems
, Marketing & Distribution
, Real Estate
Selected Reference Books
The Handbook of Global Online Journalism by
Publication Date: 2012-06-25
The Handbook to Global Online Journalism features a collection of readings from international practitioners and scholars that represent a comprehensive and state-of-the-art overview of the relationship between the internet and journalism around the world. Provides a state-of-the-art overview of current research and future directions of online journalism Traces the evolution of journalistic practices, business models, and shifting patterns of journalistic cultures that have emerged around the world with the migration of news online Written and edited by top international researchers and practitioners in the area of online journalism Features an extensive breadth of coverage, including economics, organizational practices, contents and experiences Discusses developments in online news in a wide range of countries, from the USA to Brazil, and from Germany to China Contains original theory, new research data, and reviews of existing studies in the field
Encyclopedia of American Journalism by
Publication Date: 2007-09-12
The Encyclopedia of American Journalism explores the distinctions found in print media, radio, television, and the internet. This work seeks to document the role of these different forms of journalism in the formation of America's understanding and reaction to political campaigns, war, peace, protest, slavery, consumer rights, civil rights, immigration, unionism, feminism, environmentalism, globalization, and more. This work also explores the intersections between journalism and other phenomena in American Society, such as law, crime, business, and consumption. The evolution of journalism's ethical standards is discussed, as well as the important libel and defamation trials that have influenced journalistic practice, its legal protection, and legal responsibilities. Topics covered include: Associations and Organizations; Historical Overview and Practice; Individuals; Journalism in American History; Laws, Acts, and Legislation; Print, Broadcast, Newsgroups, and Corporations; Technologies.
Encyclopedia of War Journalism by
Publication Date: 2015-08-30
Up-to-date through 2015, this new third edition (formerly titled the Historical Dictionary of War Journalism) examines the development, history and current state of war journalism. From the Mexican War in 1846 to the current Conflicts in the Middle East and everything in-between, this important reference tool provides a unique, around the world look at how conflicts were covered. Explore the influences of the flow of information on the battlefield and the home front. >Combining over 900 A-Z Entries, with Primary Documents and an Historical Timeline, this new edition is both a starting point and a detailed research tool. This updated edition is an important, timely addition to the reference collections of public, university and high school libraries along with journalism and military history collections. A-Z EntriesOver 800 topical entries cover reporters, photographers, and artists who represented a newspaper, magazine, radio, or television station, or another news source. Entries also cover significant events and terms relating to war reporting from 1846 to the recent conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan Primary DocumentsContains over 40 documents for added sources of research, including important newspaper articles, resignation letters, speeches and correspondence. Several Helpful AppendicesAppendices of Journalists arranged by War or Conflict, to make easy work of locating correspondents by the conflict they covered: Appendix on Pulitzer Prizes for War Reporting, Pulitzer Prizes Awarded for War Reporting, War Artists & War Photographers/Cameramen, and U.S. Films that Portray War Correspondents Historical Timeline A chronology of important events affecting war journalism allows the reader to see the profession in an historical context. Comprehensive Bibliography Cumulative Index With thoughtful, detailed coverage of war journalism around the world, this updated reference tool will be a helpful addition to the reference collections of public, university and high school libraries along with journalism and military history collections.