Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CMSD 3070: Website Evaluation for Communication Sciences (Finn): Corroborate

Verify Your Sources

Verify the authority and reliability of your sources by searching for journal articles or books that are either written by an author, or that cite or mention an author or organizations. You can also search for journal articles that discuss the ideas/theories presented in your source.

Search Tips

Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.

Before you start searching here's an important announcement: If you previously created an account in EBSCO before December of 2020, you may need to edit it as there have been changes to the url's for EBSCO products. Use this link to see how to do this. It's very easy! Believe me.....

  • Databases in the EBSCO "family" can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.

    ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.

    Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.

  • Create an account within the database to save your results and also to be able to send them to a citation manager. You need only create one account for all the EBSCO databases and one for all the ProQuest databases.Use quotation marks to keep your phrases as phrases: "autism spectrum"

  • Use the asterisk to expand your search. Type the root of your word~teach~ and add the asterisk~teach* to retrieve teach, teacher, teachers, teaching 

  • Keep your synonyms in the same box and join by or. These would be terms that are interchangeable in your search. You'll get more hits this way. 

  • Don't type complete sentences but use just the main concepts. 

  • Narrow your results to "peer reviewed" to get scholarly materials.

  • Use the blue "find it @ UGA" button to see what kinds of access we have for that article. If it's not available electronically, scroll down to find the link "We may own this item in print" and select the GIL Classic link to if we own this item.

  • If we don't have it in print nor electronically, call on Interlibrary Loan.  They will track down the articles (and books) that we don't have. For free. Articles will come to you as a link in your email to a pdf of the document. Always check to be certain that we don't have print access before submitting your request.

  • The Curriculum Materials Library is now a delivery point for Interlibrary Loan book deliveries. Make us your default location! 

  • Use the blue Check SFX for a menu of link options for this item. A new window will open.- button to see what kinds of access we have for that article. If it's not available electronically, search in GIL-FIND from the Libraries' home page to see if we own it in print.

Finding Databases

Before you start searching here's an important announcement: If you previously created an account in EBSCO before December of 2020, you may need to edit it as there have been changes to the url's for EBSCO products. Use this link to see how to do this. It's very easy! Believe me.....

Here is a list of SOME of the databases to which we have access and which might be of use to you. To access these databases through the        Libraries' Homepage, use the Databases A - Z Tab and search "Databases by Name". Here are a few that may be useful for this assignment:. To search multiple databases from a single provider (EBSCO or ProQuest) select "choose databases" and select all that you wish to search. Save time! Look in more than one place with the same search!

Academic Search Complete This multi-purpose database covers a variety of topics and is part of EBSCO.

CINAHL (EBSCO) This database name is derived from Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. A good place to search for health-related topics.

Communications and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)  Another good source for popular & scholarly articles on a wide variety of topics related to communications.

ERIC (at EBSCOhost) Educational Resources Information Center. Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice. Combine this with other databases in the EBSCO "family:

Health Source: Nursing (EBSCO) Articles for nursing and allied health professionals.

MedLine (EBSCO) MedLine is a different version, with the same content, as PubMed. I like MedLine because you're already in the EBSCO group and can easily add this to your search.

PsycINFO  The major index for articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology. The American Psychological Association offers a YouTube playlist on using PsycINFO via EBSCOHost.

Don't forget the newspapers! Check out our Subject Guide on Newspapers Two good options from this page are U.S. Newsstream and U.S. Major Dailies. Search for your therapy and see what is being said about it from outside the field!

If you need more options, please visit the Communication Sciences Subject Guide for more options.