It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides an overview of resources for the study of Philosophy.
Full-text journal articles from selected sources (mostly American and in English), with good coverage for Philosophy, and excellent historical coverage (to the foundation of the journals); has a 5-year delay for most titles.
The Philosopher's Index,produced by the Philosophers Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher's Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The database covers the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
Articles on spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of world religions.
<>The Religion & Philosophy Collection> is a database with more than 243 full-text journals. It covers topics in spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major religions.
NOTE: Most of the journals in the Religion & Philosophy Collection are also included in Academic Search Complete; however, some titles are unique to the Religion & Philosophy Collection.
Full text archive of articles on literature and criticism, history, art, and social sciences.
Project Muse is a full-text journal database for over 100 journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Database provider: Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at Johns Hopkins University.
90+ databases with links to full text for thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, ARTStor images, and more, plus citations to books and media in the UGA Libraries. Excellent for interdisciplinary research.
From a Citation:
Go to the E-Journals tab on the Libraries homepage (or search by Journal title in GIL)
Enter your journal title (i.e. Synthese - leave off articles like "the" or "a")
If we have access to the title online, you will see links into the databases that have full text. Note the date range included in the online version.
Searching by Topic:
Brainstorm keywords based on your topic. Think of synonyms, and pull words from your readings. Background reading in scholarly sources can help you identify useful terms.
Combine keywords to narrow results using "and" (i.e. "seleucia and coinage") or broaden results using "or" (i.e. "farming or agriculture" ).
Experiment with multiple keywords - it may take some time and creativity to find the right words and combinations for your topic.
Where to Search:
See Databases & E-Resources on the left column of this page for a list of indexes to journal literature in philosophy.