Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy - New & Revised Entries
Historisches Worterbuch der Philosophie
Call Number: Main Ref B43 .R59
This lexicon has been called the most comprehensive philosophical dictionary in any language. Includes terms from branches of the sciences relevant to philosophy, cybernetics, psychology, mathematics, etc. Includes bibliographies.
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Call Number: Main Ref B41 .B53 2008
Covers all areas of philosophy and contains terms from the related fields of religion, science, and logic. 2nd edition includes 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers and covers the most recent terms and concepts from Western philosophical traditions, as well as Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Call Number: Main Ref B41 .C35 1999
A dictionary of thinkers and ideas. Comprehensive entries on major philosophers as well as 50 entries on leading contemporary philosophers. Includes coverage of developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics, non-Western philosophy, and Continental philosophy.
Routledge Dictionary of Philosophy (4th ed.)
Call Number: Main Ref B41 .L32 2010
Concentrating on the Western philosophical tradition, provides a broad introduction to the central issues, ideas and perspectives in core fields such as metaphysics, epistemology, and logic. It includes concise biographical entries for more than one hundred major philosophers, from Plato and Aristotle through to contemporary figures such as Dummett, McDowell, Parfit and Singer.
Dictionary of World Philosophy (E-book edition)
Call Number: Online or in print Main Ref B41 .I26 2001
Covers terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy. Entries come from West African, Arabic, Chinese, Indian, Japanese, Jewish, Korean, Latin American, Maori and Native American philosophy, including the field of Pre-Hispanic thought: Nahua philosophy.
Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers
Call Number: Main Ref B804 .B52 1996
International in scope. Includes bibliographies of major publications and secondary literature and indexes by name, subject, nationality, fields of interest, and influences. Also includes a section devoted to the brief overview and basic bibliography of major schools and movements, primarily of the western world.
A Companion to the Philosophers
Call Number: Main Ref B72 .C595 1999
Includes signed articles arranged by culture: African philosophers -- Chinese philosophers -- European and American philosophers -- Indian philosophers -- Japanese philosophers -- Islamic and Jewish philosophers
Women Philosophers: A Bio Critical Source Book
Call Number: Main Ref B105 .W6 K47 1989
This book covers more than 170 women born before 1920 who wrote about or pondered questions of Western intellectual life. The volume includes extensive bibliographies of both primary and secondary works about each philosopher.
World Philosophers and Their Works
Call Number: Main Ref B104 .W67 2000
This three volume set surveys the lives and writings of over two hundred influential philosophers. Entries include a brief summary of the philosopher's major themes, a listing of principle writings, followed by a biographical essay. Essays describing each philosopher's most influential works are included in addition to bibliographical references. Volume 3 includes several useful indexes such as a chronological list of philosophers, glossary of terms, and indexes to the philosophical works covered in the set arranged by subject and title.
Chicago Manual of Style
The Chicago Manual of Style Online includes the searchable full text of this major style guide's 15th and 16th editions.
The database has two additional sections: a Q&A with frequently asked or particularly difficult questions, and a Tools section with guidelines for manuscript preparation, a list of proofreading marks, and a quick guide offering basic examples of Chicago documentation style.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: Main Ref B51 .R68 1998
Published in 1998, this source provides extensive coverage of both Western and world philosophy. It is especially useful for its coverage of philosophical developments spanning the past 30 years and updating of earlier discussions. Entries are signed and include a short overview of the topic, an outline to the main article, and cross references. The annotated bibliographies associated with each entry will direct you to further resources on the topic
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Call Number: Main Ref BH56 .E53 1998
The first reference of its kind surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society--from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. Of special interest are in-depth surveys of Western aesthetics and broad coverage of non-Western traditions and theories of art.
Encyclopedia of Ethics
Call Number: Main Ref BJ63 .E45 2001
Publication Date: 2001-08-31
Includes biographical articles, entries on areas and issues related to ethics, treatment of major traditions in religious ethics, coverage of applied ethical issues of importance to theory, survey articles on the history of ethics, and information on the current status of philosophical ethics world wide.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Call Number: Main Ref GE42 .E533 2009
More than 300 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (E-book edition)
Call Number: Online
This four-volume set includes detailed investigations of historical and theoretical material including topics from the first edition published in 1998, plus topics on issues that were not or only just barely on the horizon.
Routledge History of Philosophy
Call Number: See Individual Volumes
Provides a chronological survey of the history of Western Philosophy from its beginnings in the sixth century BC to the present time.
Volume 1: From the Beginnings to Plato
Volume 2: From Aristotle to Augustine
Volume 3: Medieval Philosophy
Volume 4: The Renaissance and Seventeenth Century Rationalism
Volume 5: British Philosophy and the Age of Enlightenment
Volume 6: The Age of German Idealism
Volume 7: The Nineteenth Century
Volume 8: Twentieth-Century Continental Philosophy
Volume 9: Philosophy of Science, Logic and Mathematics in the Twentieth Century
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Call Number: Main Ref CB9 .N49 2005
From abolitionism to Zionism, this encyclopedia clarifies the intellectual history of more than 750 complex ideas of concern to people today. Like its classic predecessor, the Dictionary of the History of Ideas (1973, http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/DicHist/dict.html), this new set covers core Western ideas, while expanding its coverage to include the 'global perspectives and gender-inclusive' concepts that have evolved in the past 30 years. Reader's guides, cross-references, sidebars, and an index aid the reader in understanding the way ideas combine with other ideas.
The History of Continental Philosophy
Call Number: B791 .H57 2010
8 volumes. Beginning with an overview of Kant's philosophy and its initial reception, the History traces the evolution of continental philosophy through major figures as well as movements such as existentialism, phenomenology, hermeneutics, and poststructuralism. The final volume outlines the current state of the field, bringing the work of both historical and modern thinkers to bear on such contemporary topics as feminism, globalization, and the environment.