Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOWK 7097: Civil Rights and Social Work Practice: History: Primary Sources

20th Century Primary Sources

Newspapers and Periodical Collections

Ethnic NewsWatch  Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press, in full text from the 1990s-present.
Historical Newspapers Online (ProQuest) Full text of historical American newspapers, including theAtlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary.

LexisNexis Academic  Full text news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Most articles are in full text. Coverage varies by title, with more complete coverage generally from the mid-1990s to the present.

Newspaper Source  Articles from national and regional newspapers, including The Macon Telegraph, Savannah Morning News, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, and The Miami Herald. Coverage may be selective, dated 1994-present.

Readers' Guide Retrospective Index  Index to popular magazines, like Time and Newsweek, 1890-1982
Individual Periodical Titles & Print Indexes
 

Main 4th floor E185.5 .C932 R67 1975 Analytical Guide and Indexes to the Crisis, 1910-1960
Index to the official publication of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). The Crisis is available in full text on Google Books.

Main Ref AI3 .I56 Index to periodical articles by and about Negroes (1950-1972); Index to periodical articles by and about Blacks (1974-1983); Index to Black periodicals (1984-1999) Indexes to articles in periodicals. Look up articles by topic, then look up magazine and journal titles in GIL, the UGA Libraries catalog. The CrisisEbony and Jet are available in full text on Google Books.

Main 2nd Z1361 .N39 M30
Negro progress in Atlanta, Georgia, 1950-1960; a selective bibliography on human relations from four Atlanta newspapers

Main 2nd Z1361 .N39 M32
Negro progress in Atlanta, Georgia, 1961-1970; a selective bibliography on race and human relations from four Atlanta newspapers

Atlanta Constitution Historical Full Text (ProQuest) Full text of the Atlanta Constitution 1868-1945. For indexing for other years, see:

  • Main Ref MFC AI21 .A710 Atlanta Journal Card Index, 1944-1979
  • Main Ref AI21 .A7 Atlanta Constitution, 1971-1979 
  • Main Ref AI21 .A71 Atlanta Journal, Atlanta Constitution Index, 1983-present
New York Times Historical Full Text (ProQuest) Full text of the New York Times, 1851-2006.

Video

HistoryMakers Oral history video from thousands of African-Americans

Films on Demand (Films Media Group)  Over 7,000 educational films and newsreels online.

Other Documents

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) (Chadwyck-Healey, ProQuest) Full-text primary documents concerning U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.

FBI Freedom of Information Act Reading Room includes digitized records of FBI investigations of many famous people and organizations, including a number of interest to Civil Rights Era research

Georgia Government Publications Public documents of departments or agencies within the state government.

GPO Monthly Catalog (U.S. government publications) The U.S. Government Printing Office Monthly Catalog of Publications is a database consisting of citations to documents published by the GPO since July 1976. The Catalog includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more. The print edition counterpart to this database has been published by the government under various titles since 1895.

Internet Archive Large collection of video and audio. Includes the Wayback Machine, an archive of web pages.

ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional) Coverage of U.S. Congress; hearings, prints, reports, bills, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations.

ProQuest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis Statistical Insight)  Statistics published by the U.S. government and other agencies.

Government Documents

Government Documents

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) (Chadwyck-Healey, ProQuest) Full-text primary documents concerning U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.

FBI Freedom of Information Act Reading Room includes digitized records of FBI investigations of many famous people and organizations, including a number of interest to Civil Rights Era research

Georgia Government Publications Public documents of departments or agencies within the state government.

GPO Monthly Catalog (U.S. government publications) The U.S. Government Printing Office Monthly Catalog of Publications is a database consisting of citations to documents published by the GPO since July 1976. The Catalog includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more. The print edition counterpart to this database has been published by the government under various titles since 1895.

ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional) Coverage of U.S. Congress; hearings, prints, reports, bills, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations.

ProQuest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis Statistical Insight)  Statistics published by the U.S. government and other agencies.

Statistics

Statistics at the UGA Libraries Guide to finding statistics

Ancestry Library Edition Online Access: On Campus Only Collection of databases, records, and advice on genealogical research. Includes census rolls.

Bureau of the Census

Historical Census Browser

Historical Statistics of the United States Historical statistical data for the United States

ProQuest Statistical Insight ((formerly LexisNexis Statistical Insight)) Statistics published by the U.S. government and other agencies 

Print Sources in the Main Library Reference Room:

Historical Statistics of Black America Call Number: Main Ref E185 .H543 1995

Historical Statistics of the States of the United States: Two Centuries of the Census, 1790-1990Call Number: Main Ref HA214 .D63

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 Call Number: Main Ref HA202 .B87 1976

International Historical Statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000 Call Number: Main Ref HA4675.M552 2003

International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2000 Call Number: Main Ref HA1107.M5 2003

International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-2000 Call Number: Main Ref HA175.M55 2003

Your Librarian

Amber Prentiss's picture
Amber Prentiss
Contact:
Miller Learning Center 373
706-542-7674