Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOWK 7097: Civil Rights and Social Work Practice: History: Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources: African American Studies

GALILEO Databases

African American Studies subject page in GALILEO

America: History & Life Index to articles from 1,500 journals on history and culture, covering 1450-present, of the United States and Canada. Includes many regional, state, and city history journals. Includes current journal issues. Example coverage: Georgia Historical Quarterly: Selective coverage back to 1955, full text (HTML) 2002 to present; also includes Provenance: The Journal of the Society of Georgia Archivists (selective coverage back to 1983); Journal of the Georgia Association of Historians (selective coverage back to 1994, full text 2004 to present; Atlanta History: A Journal of Georgia & the South (selective coverage from 1987 to 2006); Viewpoints: Georgia Baptist History (selective coverage 1969 to present, full text 2005 to present); Augusta Richmond County History (selective coverage back to 2000, full text 2008 to present).

JSTOR Access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals in many fields. Includes over 300 journals of history, mostly of national interest but with some regional publications, from the first issue of the journal to a "moving wall" 3-5 from present. Example coverage: Georgia Historical Quarterly full text (PDF) 1917-2008.

Race Relations Abstracts Index to articles in race relations from a variety of disciplines.

African American Publications

African American Biographical Database Biographical sketches, c. 1790-1950, with photographs and illustrations.

African-American Newspapers: the 19th Century Covering cultural life and history as reflected in the African-American press.

Ethnic NewsWatch Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press, in full text, from the early 1990s to the present.

 
Print Indexes to African American Newspapers and Magazines

Main 4th floor E185.5 .C932 R67 1975 Analytical Guide and Indexes to the Crisis, 1910-1960
Index to the official publication of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). The Crisis is available in full text on Google Books.

Main Ref AI3 .I56 Index to periodical articles by and about Negroes (1950-1972); Index to periodical articles by and about Blacks (1974-1983); Index to Black periodicals (1984-1999) Indexes to articles in periodicals. Look up articles by topic, then look up magazine and journal titles in GIL, the UGA Libraries catalog. The CrisisEbony and Jet are available in full text on Google Books.

Main 2nd Z1361 .N39 M30
Negro progress in Atlanta, Georgia, 1950-1960; a selective bibliography on human relations from four Atlanta newspapers

Main 2nd Z1361 .N39 M32
Negro progress in Atlanta, Georgia, 1961-1970; a selective bibliography on race and human relations from four Atlanta newspapers

 

Special Collections Libraries

Hargrett Library

Russell Library

Media Archives

UGA Libraries Special Collections are specialized archives holding original, rare, and irreplaceable materials. Although many items in special collections are included in GIL, the UGA Libraries catalog, the specialized finding aids listed in this guide may help you do more detailed searches. See hints for searching GIL for items from Special Collections here.

For information on specific topics, researchers should contact a Special Collections archivist:

Hargrett contacts

Russell contacts

Media contacts

Web pages in African-American History

Civil Rights and Sunbelt Georgia, 1945-1980: Digital Library of Georgia collections covering the mid-20th century

Civil Rights Digital Library: Primary source documents, including television footage, of the battle for civil rights in Georgia

Foot Soldier Project: Oral histories from participants in the civil rights movement in Georgia

History of the University of Georgia: Selected Bibliography of Georgia Room holdings

Integration of the University of Georgia: Civil Rights Digital Library collection

Jim Crow in Georgia: Selected Bibliography of Georgia Room Holdings

People and Cultures: Digital Library of Georgia collections covering individuals and groups, including African Americans

The Struggle for Civil Rights in Georgia: Selected Bibliography of Georgia Room Holdings

Get Help

Get Help

See the Contact Us page to contact a reference librarian by chat, text, email, or phone, or to set up a research conference.

Library Services

Access Services Contact Access Services with questions about your library account, fines, and book requests: phone (706) 542-3256 or emailmaincirc@uga.edu

Citation management software: Endnote and Refworks. Collect citations from GALILEO databases, add them to your papers, and automatically format your bibliography.

Floor maps and call number directory

GILFind The catalog of the UGA Libraries. See Your Account for the GALILEO password and information about your checked out books, requests, and fines. Also use the catalog for recalling books that have been checked out,renewing books that you have checked out, requesting books from the Repository (Repo requests not available in GILFind). Gil Classic uses more structured search software; GILFind uses a google-like keyword search and includes features like links to Google Books, suggested citations, and text links for call numbers.

GIL Express Request books available at other libraries in the University System of Georgia. Deliveries take 3-5 business days.

Interlibrary Loan Request articles from journals not owned by UGA, or books not available at UGA or through GILExpress. Electronic deliveries of articles may take 3-5 business days; times for deliveries of books vary.

Research Conferences Meet with a librarian who specializes in your topic for an in-depth discussion of available resources.

Galileo Password

This password is required to access the UGA Libraries' online resources inGALILEO from off campus and on some wireless networks.

  • Click here or go to GIL and click on the Your Account link
  • Enter the complete number under the barcode on back of your UGA ID card or your 9-digit 810 number
  • If you have not gotten a PIN (personal identification number) enter your last name, and click "Get my PIN."  A PIN will be emailed immediately to the email address on file for your account (usually your uga email address - check your spam or trash folders if it does not turn up!)
  • Get your PIN from email, and go back to the login page.  Enter your barcode, last name AND PIN, hit 'Logon' and you'll get the Galileo password for the semester.

NOTE: The password changes every semester. If your library account is blocked due to overdue books and/or fines you will be unable to access the password. Contact Access Services at (706) 542-3256 if you have any trouble getting a PIN or getting into your account.

Citing Sources

UGA Libraries Citation Style Guides : examples of commonly cited items like books and articles from many different citation styles

The Purdue Online Writing Lab: Research and Citation Sources : more in-depth discussions of APA, MLA, and Chicago styles

Refworks : export citations from GALILEO databases and add them to your papers using an add-in to MSWord; automatically format bibliographies More about Refworks; Request a training session in Refworks

Your Librarian

Amber Prentiss's picture
Amber Prentiss
Contact:
Miller Learning Center 373
706-542-7674