GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: GIS Data: Clearinghouses and Geoportals

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Clearinghouses

USDA:NRCS Geospatial Data Gateway
One stop shop for climate, hydrology, land cover, roads, and aerial photos
Data Repository of the Geographic Information Support Team (GIST)
A USAID-funded global archive of spatial data collected and distributed for the greater humanitarian community. While located at the University of Georgia, the GIST Repository is free to access but requires creation of a login account.
Diva-GIS
Download administrative boundaries, roads, railroads, altitude, land cover, population density for any country in the world
Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) Data & Services
The FGDC coordinates the sharing of geographic data, maps, and online services through an online portal, GeoPlatform.gov, that searches metadata held within the NSDI Clearinghouse Network.
Georgia GIS Clearinghouse
Offers free downloads of post-1980s aerial photography and imagery of the State of Georgia; also roads, utilities, education, geology, demographic, and more!
Geospatial and Attribute Data: Links for each State
Contains links to webites with attribute and geospatial data for each of the 50 states, Washington, D.C., and the United States as a whole. This site is maintained by the University of Arkansas Libraries.
National Geospatial Program
The National Geospatial Program provides leadership for USGS geospatial coordination, production and service activities. Access, view, and download information from geo-spatial databases produced by the USGS and other government agencies.
Natural Earth
Data themes are available in three levels of detail. For each scale, themes are listed on Cultural, Physical, and Raster category pages
State Agency Databases
This is a wiki of publicly accessible U.S. state agency databases, hosted by the American Library Association (ALA) Government Documents Round Table (GODORT). Contains a lot of state specific, often overlooked data, that is maintained by local experts.

Georgia Local/County Government

These sites have GIS data available at no cost for educational uses. You will need to contact them for details.

Carl Vinson Institute of Government
Students can request local government data. Just use the email contact (jnolan) under the Local Government heading.
GIS1's Georgia GIS Clearinghouse
Not to be confused with the Georgia GIS Clearinghouse above. Parcel, Road centerline data, and address points available for Students & Educational uses. Contact them through their website for those and additional datasets.

Open Geoportals - Cities in Georgia

Athens-Clarke County
Open data portal for Athens Clarke County
City of Atlanta
GIS data for just the City of Atlanta.
Atlanta Police Department
Crime data for the City of Atlanta. Updated at least weekly.
Atlanta Regional Commission
Covers the Atlanta metro area
Savannah Area GIS
Greater Savannah - Chatham County area